Krueger News and Stories - Research Hub at Winona State University

New Library Science Course: LIBS 310: Advanced Research for Nursing and Allied Health

10/17/2025

Amanda Pruka

Nursing, Library and Information Science

The Library Department is offering a new, one-credit course: LIBS 310: Advanced Research for Nursing and Allied Health.

See a course description and register here: Registration

The course is intended for students interested in the health sciences, but is open to anyone. The course provides an introduction to both advanced library searching and health sciences information. You do not need a background in the health sciences to understand the content!

Topics Include:

Common research designs in health sciences and the Levels of Evidence
Advanced search techniques such as Boolean logic and phrase searching
Controlled vocabularies such as MeSH
Finding credible public health and demographic data
Health misinformation and disinformation

Please note: This is a fully online, asynchronous course. However, the instructor will be available for office hours in person at the Krueger Library.

Meet the instructor: Amanda Pruka is the librarian liaison for Nursing and Psychology.

WorldCat Discovery

07/03/2025

Amanda Pruka

Library and Information Science

Krueger library has a new way to search for books, music, dissertations and other resources from around the world: WorldCat Discovery

WorldCat Discovery is a new interface for the WorldCat database. Materials can be found and requested via interlibrary loan (Resource Sharing).

WorldCat FirstSearch

WorldCat FirstSearch is still available! Find a link on the Databases A-Z page and the Search Overview page.

If you would like to bookmark the page, use this URL: http://wsuproxy.mnpals.net/login?url=https://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=WorldCat

FirstSearch vs WorldCat Discovery

FirstSearch and WorldCat Discovery both search the WorldCat database. While there are some small differences in indexing, which you use is mostly personal preference. Both interfaces will remain on the library website as long as the vendor supports them.

New search interface for EBSCO databases

11/18/2024

Amanda Pruka

Health, Exercise, and Rehabilitative Sciences (HERS), Nursing, Library and Information Science, Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (PMHNP)

On December 19th, EBSCOhost is rolling out a new search interface for most of its databases. EBSCO is the vendor of CINAHL, Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and many more.

While the databases look very different, the content has not changed. All of the same journals, books, and other resources are still available from the databases.

A few of the access options will be turned off until we move fully to the new interfaces. However, the databases are fully functional. Try them now:

Academic Search Premier
Business Source Premier*
CINAHL Ultimate
ERIC
PsycArticles
PsycInfo
World Politics Review
All EBSCO Metasearch (search of all EBSCO databases)

See a complete listing of all EBSCO databases on our A-Z page. Note that a few of the databases, such as Learning Express, Points of View Reference Source, and those intended for K-12 audience, will have a different interface.

*Business Source Premier will continue to be available with the Business Searching Interface and the new searching interface. Both options will appear on the A-Z list.

Comments/Questions

If you have any problems accessing content, please contact the library at library@winona.edu

See our EBSCO related FAQs.

New EBSCO Tutorials

Minnesota Shared Print Program, Stories from the Krueger Library's Share

02/01/2024

Vernon Leighton

Library and Information Science

For many years, library leaders in Minnesota have worked to create a distributed research collection in the state. In 2022, the state agency Minitex provided funding to support this effort, in what is called the Minnesota Shared Print Program. Twenty-four Minnesota libraries have joined together and are committed to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota, which we are calling the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Winona State’s share of this collection is about sixteen thousand titles. As we label the books, we have found interesting stories about our collection. Here are stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Story 1: Polymer Composites at WSU

Story 2: Boolean: AND, OR, ... NOT!

Story 3: Winona Normal School: the First Teacher’s College West of the Mississippi.

Story 4: Beer and Philosophy

Story 5: Retained Books versus Notable Books

Story 6: Who’s afraid of J. Edgar Hoover?

Story 7: Book Donations to the Library

Story 8: Preserving All Voices

Story 9: Lean Management

Story 10: The Economy of Bangladesh

Story 11: A Bible on the List

Story 12: WSU Authors