WSU Retention List Stories - Research Hub at Winona State University

Long-time Professor and Warriors sports announcer Brice Wilkinson (Communication Studies), who passed away in 2019, was a proponent of the Chinese discipline of Tai Chi, and, perhaps thanks to his advocacy, Winona State has a dozen Tai Chi books on our retention list.

Lowenthal, Wolfe. There Are No Secrets: Professor Cheng Man-Chʻing and His Tai Chi Chuan. Berkeley, Calif: North Atlantic Books, 1991.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Recent Posts

Story Forty-Seven: Biology for the Curious

Emerita Professor Robin Devinney (formerly Richardson) wrote a handbook for her biology classes, which is on our retention list.Richardson, Robin. Handbook for the Curious. Kendall Hunt, 2009.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Forty-Six: Kindergarteners Singing

The German education pioneer Friedrich Fröbel developed the concept of the Kindergarten (which is why in the United States we still refer to it by its German name). One of the books on our retention list is a small pocketbook of children’s songs by Fröbel (in German).Fröbel, Friedrich. Mütter-, Spiel-, und Koselieder: Entworfenes und Gedrucktes zu aus Friedrich Fröbels Familienbuch. 1. Aufl., Volk und Wissen, 1984.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Forty-Five: An Early Anti-Vaxxer Book

Four years ago, on December 8, 2020, mass vaccinations began to combat the COVID-19 virus. Worldwide, millions of people died of COVID (https://tinyurl.com/5n8thkfs). Without the vaccine, millions more would have died (https://tinyurl.com/mr322jdd).Sometimes a book is rare because, at the time it was written, its ideas were considered both wrong and marginal. One book for which WSU gets interlibrary loan requests from around the world is a book that was in on the ground floor of spreading fears about the safety and efficacy of vaccines. While I would not recommend you adopting the views promoted by this book, if you wanted to study the history of the anti-vaccine movement, this book should not be overlooked.McBean, Eleanora. The Poisoned Needle: Supressed Facts about Vaccination. New ed., Health Research, 1974.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Forty-Four: Songs of Bibliographic Innocence and Experience

November 28th is the 267th birthday of the poet William Blake. Professor Wayne C. Ripley (English) is the bibliographer for The William Blake Archive. Thanks in part to his research, some of the books on WSU’s retention list are studies of Blake. Makdisi, Saree. Reading William Blake. Cambridge University Press, 2015.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection. ...

Story Thirty-Five: “What is difficult is the perseverance” – A Tai Chi proverb