Archives
Archives & Special Collections
Krueger Library Archives are located in Library 130, near the Front Desk. The physical Archives are available by appointment only.
Scope of Collection
Krueger Library’s Archives and Special Collections collects, preserves, and provides access to the primary source materials relating to Winona State University's history, examples of fine printing, and other objects that support the study, teaching, and research of WSU.
Construction of Somsen Hall at Winona State Teachers College, Winona, Minnesota
Record in MN Digital Library
Dorm room at West Lodge, Winona Normal School, Winona, Minnesota.
Record in MN Digital Library
Archives Policies for Handling and Viewing
Materials are non-circulating and should not leave the Archives & Special Collections, but exceptions, such as a loan to a historical society or a secured display on campus, are at the discretion of the Archives and Special Collections Librarian, Allison Quam.
- Determined on a case-by-case basis, patrons are responsible for any damages that may occur during use.
- No food, drink, permanent writing tools (i.e. pen, markers, highlighters, etc.), or cutting tool, are allowed.
- Pencils are allowed.
Archive Collection Highlights
Archive originals are available for viewing in Library 130 by appointment. Find digitized version when available.
|
Collection / Materials |
Archive originals (by appointment) |
Cataloging / OneSearch |
Digital Versions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wenonah Yearbooks |
1901, 1911-1976 (missing 1972 and 1975) Complete collection digitized in Open RIver |
OneSearch: Series record |
Open River: Wenonah Yearbooks 1901, 1911-1976. (missing 1972 and 1975) |
| WSU Photograph Collection |
14 boxes. Most have not been digitized. However, several hundred are available in Open River and MN Digital Library. |
Card catalog located in Library 120. Contact Allison Quam for access. No cataloging in OneSearch |
Open River: WSU Photographs MN Digital Library: Still Images > WSU Approximately 200 photographs (portion of physical archive) |
| WSU Capstones, Dissertations, Thesis, SIPs, etc. | Varies, OneSearch will indicate location of print dissertations, thesis, etc. |
Coverage 1954- present |
Open River: Student Capstones, Theses, & Dissertations Coverage: 1959- present |
| Winonan Student Newspaper |
Available for viewing in Library 120 1922 - present |
OneSearch Series record |
Open River: The Winonan
|
Restricted Use Materials
Library 007 contains restricted use materials, which contain personal information and are not available for public use. Please speak with Allison Quam about your intended use.
Permission to Publish
- Permission to Publish FormPermission to use materials from the Archives & Special Collections for educational purposes is not required. Although we are excited to hear how our materials are being shared. Educational purposes include class presentations, written or oral projects/reports, or lectures. Thank you for giving us credit for providing access to material! Please include the following statement: Courtesy of Archives & Special Collections at Winona State University.
For all other purposes, please submit the Permission to Publish form.
