Library Collections
The Krueger Library supports teaching and research for academic programs at WSU. The print collections are searchable through OneSearch.
Library collections include:
- 400,000 print volumes, including books and bound volumes of periodicals
- 400,000 titles in microformats
- 38,000 videos, including both DVDs and streaming titles
- 60,000 electronic journal titles
- 80,000 e-books and other electronic texts
- Approximately 166 subscription databases, organized by subject and by title
Databases
Archives and Special Collections
Krueger Library’s Archives and Special Collections collects, preserves, and provides access to the primary source materials relating to Winona State University's history, examples of fine printing, and other objects that support the study, teaching, and research of WSU.
Types of Materials
The Krueger Library has the following collections available for viewing:
- WSU Yearbooks from 1910 to 1972, when yearbook publication ended, are available to view
- The Winonan Student Newspaper from 1922 to current is available for viewing. Previous years are bound.
- Master's Thesis and Graduate Papers - most thesis and graduate papers written by WSU graduate students are available for viewing. They are also cataloged and can be located by using the Library's online catalog.
- 14 boxes of photographs are available for viewing. A small card catalog provides some access to the various photos. The Archives has digital copies of several hundred WSU photographs into the searchable database of the Minnesota Digital Library.
Room 006 in the Library's basement contains restricted use materials, which contain personal information and are not available for public use. Please speak with Allison Quam about your intended use. These materials include:
- Search committee records
- Personnel files
- Congressional records
- Residence Hall Contracts
- Various departmental and office records
Archives Access
Archives and Special Collections are accessible by appointment only. Contact Allison Quam.
OpenRiver Digital Collections
OpenRiver is Winona State University’s Digital Commons Repository. OpenRiver open access collections preserve and showcase the scholarly and creative work of WSU's students and faculty, as well as the history of Southeastern Minnesota. Highlights of OpenRiver include:
Winona Newspaper Database
- Winona Newspaper Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Open access to Winona-area newspapers from the mid-1800s-1976. Presented by Krueger Library with the support of the Minnesota Historical Society and the cooperation of the Winona County Historical Society.
Government Information
Krueger Library is a United States Federal Depository. The collection includes:
- Over 10,000 print documents
- Over 100,000 microfilm documents
- Curated list of online government resources
Collections Librarians
Archives and Special Collections
Allison Quam
Library 122D
507.457.2644
aquam@winona.edu
OpenRiver Administrator
Kendall Larson
Library 122C
507.457.5367
klarson@winona.edu
Government Documents Specialist
Vernon Leighton
Library 124A
507.457.5148
vleighton@winona.edu
Collections News
- Retention List Stories 📚Stories from the WSU Shared Print Retention List
