WSU Retention List Stories - Research Hub at Winona State University

Assia Djebar was an Algerian novelist and a Muslim feminist. She was the first writer from the Maghreb to be elected to the Academie Francaise. Aime Cesaire was a poet and politician from Martinique. He was a founder of the Negritude Movement in French literature.

Djebar, Assia. La disparition de la langue française: roman. Paris: Albin Michel, 2003.

Césaire, Aimé, and William Shakespeare. Une Tempête: Théâtre: d’après “La Tempête” de Shakespeare: adaptation pour un théâtre nègre. Paris: Éditions du Seuil, 1997.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Recent Posts

Story Fifty-Four: Francophone Literature from Africa and the Caribbean

Until around 2010, Winona State had a French major. Emerita French professor Rosine Tanenbaum taught a course about literature written in the French language by people who were citizens of nations other than France, which is sometimes called “Francophone literature.” Librarians Joe Mount and Joe Jackson worked with her to enhance our Francophone literature collection. Some of those books are on our retention list. Assia Djebar was an Algerian novelist and a Muslim feminist. She was the first writer from the Maghreb to be elected to the Academie Francaise. Aime Cesaire was a poet and politician from Martinique. He was a founder of the Negritude Movement in French literature. Djebar, Assia. La disparition de la langue française: roman. Paris: Albin Michel, 2003. Césaire, Aimé, and William Shakespeare. Une Tempête: Théâtre: d’après “La Tempête” de Shakespeare: adaptation pour un théâtre nègre. Paris: Éditions du Seuil, 1997. Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection. ...

Story Fifty-Three: Maria Montessori

None of the books written by famed educator Maria Montessori is rare enough to be on Winona State’s retention list, but a series of books about Montessori’s methods are. Walls, Clare Healy. At the Heart of Montessori 4: The Pre School Child. Dublin: Original Writing, 2008.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection. ...

Story Fifty-Two: Students Pay Tribute to their Professor

“Bus” Smith was much beloved by his students at Columbia in the 1920s, who then collected some of his papers into this volume. In the forward, former student Franklin Henry Giddings writes, “This book is the best introduction to sociology that has ever been written.” Smith, Russell Gordon. Fugitive Papers. With a foreword by Franklin Henry Giddings and an introduction by Herbert Edwin Hawkes. Columbia University Press, 1930.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection. ...

Story Fifty-One: A Few Federal Government Documents

The Federal Government of the United States publishes a great deal of information. Historically, the federal government has operated a depository system, whereby it sends out copies of publications to a large group of libraries. Before the Internet, those publications were primarily sent to libraries in a paper format. Technically, the publications are still owned by the federal government, and the libraries are simply making them available to the public. Part of the reasoning for sending out many copies of publications to libraries was that a future administration or congress could not restrict information about what previous governments had done, which might be historically relevant. (That is also why federal government publications are not copyrighted.) Today, much of the information made public by the federal government is in the form of electronic files which are online. Some libraries download those born-digital files into institutional repositories so that they will not be lost as the government changes. (For example, if an agency goes out of existence, the files on its servers might disappear and be lost to posterity if they were not saved by libraries.) For the last two months, government documents librarians have been busy downloading online information from the outgoing administration and congress to preserve their historical record in preparation for the new presidential administration and congress.Because the federal government has distributed free copies of government documents to depository libraries, such as Winona State, those documents do not tend to be rare in Minnesota. Here are two government documents that are, nevertheless, on WSU’s retention list. National Power Survey: Environmental Research. The Report and Recommendations of the Task Force on Environmental Research to the Technical Advisory Committee on Research and Development. U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1974.Waterborne Commerce of the United States. Part 2. Waterways and harbors, Gulf Coast, Mississippi River and Antilles. U.S. Army Engineer District, 1978.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection. ...