WSU Retention List Stories - Research Hub at Winona State University

National Council on Year-round Education. Colorado State Board of Education. Year-Round Education, Dream and Reality: A Report of the 7th National Seminar on Year-Round Education, May 11-14, 1975, Denver. 1975.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Recent Posts

Story Seventy-Two: School’s Out! But not for these educators

Some educators advocate for year-round K-12 schooling. Our books on that subject circulate more than many other education books. This volume on the Krueger Library retention list refers to year-round schooling as a dream, but what would the schoolchildren call it? Bueller? … Bueller? … Bueller? Still, this book might be something to read over the summer.National Council on Year-round Education. Colorado State Board of Education. Year-Round Education, Dream and Reality: A Report of the 7th National Seminar on Year-Round Education, May 11-14, 1975, Denver. 1975.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Seventy-One: Move Over Margaret Mead

Move over Margaret Mead! Ethnographers are now exploring electronic media, as in this book on the Krueger Library’s retention list.Machin, David. Ethnographic Research for Media Studies. London: Arnold, 2002.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Seventy: The Psychological Basis of Multiple Intelligences

Although Howard Gardner’s theory of multiple intelligences is popular among educators, some psychologists argue that it is not scientifically valid. This book from the Krueger Library retention list follows the debate.Gardner, Howard. Howard Gardner under Fire: The Rebel Psychologist Faces His Critics. Ed. by Jeffrey A. Schaler. Chicago: Open Court, 2006.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Sixty-Nine: From the Annals of Poorly Chosen Book Titles: Joking about Incest

Some of the books on the Krueger Library’s retention list have titles that some readers might consider cringe-worthy. Here is our first candidate.White, William L. Incest in the Organizational Family: The Ecology of Burnout in Closed Systems. Bloomington, Ill: Lighthouse Training Institute, 1986.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....