WSU Retention List Stories - Research Hub at Winona State University

Trivers, Robert. Deceit and Self-Deception: Fooling Yourself the Better to Fool Others. London: Allen Lane, 2011.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Recent Posts

Story Fifty-Six: As a matter of fact, the river is frozen, why do you ask?

The Frozen River Film Festival ends its twentieth year today. One of the movies shown today was a documentary about the life of Robert Trivers, called “Wild Genius.” Though he suffered from schizophrenia, among his many accomplishments, Trivers worked out the mathematics of reciprocal altruism in evolutionary biology. One of his books on psychology is on the Krueger Library’s retention list.Trivers, Robert. Deceit and Self-Deception: Fooling Yourself the Better to Fool Others. London: Allen Lane, 2011.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection. ...

Story Fifty-Five: Senator Kierlin

It was announced today that former State Senator Bob Kierlin, founder of Fastenal, Winona's largest publicly traded company, has passed away. Senator Kierlin's book about Fastenal is on the Krueger Library retention list.Kierlin, Robert A. The Power of Fastenal People. Poway, Calif: First Pacific, 1997.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection. ...

Story Fifty-Four: Francophone Literature from Africa and the Caribbean

Until around 2010, Winona State had a French major. Emerita French professor Rosine Tanenbaum taught a course about literature written in the French language by people who were citizens of nations other than France, which is sometimes called “Francophone literature.” Librarians Joe Mount and Joe Jackson worked with her to enhance our Francophone literature collection. Some of those books are on our retention list. Assia Djebar was an Algerian novelist and a Muslim feminist. She was the first writer from the Maghreb to be elected to the Academie Francaise. Aime Cesaire was a poet and politician from Martinique. He was a founder of the Negritude Movement in French literature. Djebar, Assia. La disparition de la langue française: roman. Paris: Albin Michel, 2003. Césaire, Aimé, and William Shakespeare. Une Tempête: Théâtre: d’après “La Tempête” de Shakespeare: adaptation pour un théâtre nègre. Paris: Éditions du Seuil, 1997. Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection. ...

Story Fifty-Three: Maria Montessori

None of the books written by famed educator Maria Montessori is rare enough to be on Winona State’s retention list, but a series of books about Montessori’s methods are. Walls, Clare Healy. At the Heart of Montessori 4: The Pre School Child. Dublin: Original Writing, 2008.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection. ...