WSU Retention List Stories - Research Hub at Winona State University

Books in languages other than English are often scarcely-held in Minnesota. This is especially true of children’s books.

Olsen, Ib Spang. Hvordan vi fik vores naboer. Gyldendal, 1969.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Recent Posts

Story Forty-Nine: Foreign language children’s books

Books in languages other than English are often scarcely-held in Minnesota. This is especially true of children’s books. Olsen, Ib Spang. Hvordan vi fik vores naboer. Gyldendal, 1969.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection. ...

Story Forty-Eight: Santa and his Eight Tiny … Crawfish??

As this children’s book from our retention list shows, over the years, many creative writers have offered their own variations on Christmas legends. Edler, Tim. Santa’s Cajun Christmas Adventure. Little Cajun Books, 1981.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection. ...

Story Forty-Seven: Biology for the Curious

Emerita Professor Robin Devinney (formerly Richardson) wrote a handbook for her biology classes, which is on our retention list.Richardson, Robin. Handbook for the Curious. Kendall Hunt, 2009.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Forty-Six: Kindergarteners Singing

The German education pioneer Friedrich Fröbel developed the concept of the Kindergarten (which is why in the United States we still refer to it by its German name). One of the books on our retention list is a small pocketbook of children’s songs by Fröbel (in German).Fröbel, Friedrich. Mütter-, Spiel-, und Koselieder: Entworfenes und Gedrucktes zu aus Friedrich Fröbels Familienbuch. 1. Aufl., Volk und Wissen, 1984.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....