WSU Retention List Stories - Research Hub at Winona State University

Most of the WSU library books about gender roles are broad in scope. One book on the Krueger Library retention list is local to La Crosse, WI.

Larson, Margaret. For the Common Good: A History of Women’s Roles in La Crosse County, 1920-1980. La Crosse, Wis: League of Women Voters of La Crosse County, 1996.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Recent Posts

Story Seventy-Seven: Local Gender Roles

Most of the WSU library books about gender roles are broad in scope. One book on the Krueger Library retention list is local to La Crosse, WI.Larson, Margaret. For the Common Good: A History of Women’s Roles in La Crosse County, 1920-1980. La Crosse, Wis: League of Women Voters of La Crosse County, 1996.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story (Spirit of) Seventy-Six: Public Finance in the Early Republic

The original volumes called The American State Papers, which were published by the US federal government, were published between the 1830s and the 1860s. Those original publications were revised and republished in the 1960s and 1970s. The Krueger Library has several of the revised ASP subject series. The series which deals with the public finances of the federal government from 1789 until 1860 is complete enough (at 32 volumes) that the Krueger Library was assigned to have them on our Shared Print retention list. Therefore, if you want to dig into the early finances of the United States of America, grab your suntan lotion and come on down to Winona, the Miami of Minnesota.The New American State Papers: Public Finance. Wilmington, Del: Scholarly Resources, 1972. Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Seventy-Five: Spooky Action at a Distance of One Hundred Years

One hundred years ago next month, Werner Heisenberg published the seminal article that kicked off the era of Quantum Mechanics (Zeitschrift fur Physik, v. 33: pp 879-898). Einstein, Planck, and others had—a generation earlier—begun dealing with physical entities using quanta instead of continuous values, but Heisenberg and Schrodinger truly revolutionized our understanding of the physical world with a fully fledged quantum mechanics. One of the weirdest aspects of quantum mechanics (which has been experimentally confirmed) is the concept of non-local interactions such as entanglement, which Einstein derisively called “spukhafte Fernwirkung” or “Spooky distant-action.” Below is a book on the Krueger Library retention list that discusses non-local behavior at the quantum scale.Quantum chance and non-locality: probability and non-locality in the interpretations of quantum mechanics / W. Michael Dickson. Cambridge University Press, 1998.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Seventy-Four: [Guitar riff] It was Eighty Years Ago Today, when a Doctor wrote to Nils Minné …

Nils Minné was the President of Winona State from 1944 to 1967, spanning the entirety of the Baby Boom generation. One of the books on our retention list was a gift to Dr. Minné from its author (who, by the way, did earn a Ph.D. in 1938) soon after Minné began his tenure as president of Winona State. As the title suggests, it presents some of the advantages and disadvantages of the Ph. D.Dr. Minné retired just about the time that the Beatles released the album Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band. No word yet on whether Dr. Minné was the Eggman or the Walrus.Atkinson, Carroll. Pro and Con of the Ph. D. Meador Publishing Company, 1945.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....