WSU Retention List Stories - Research Hub at Winona State University

Holmes, Barbara D. Dissertation Development Strategies: A Doctoral Student Resource. Lakewood, CA: Avid Readers Publishing Group, 2010.

Daniel, Ajit K. Voices of Nations: A Comparative Analysis of Three International Radio News Editorial Orientations: Voice of America, All India Radio, and British Broadcasting Corporation. Thesis (Ph.D)--Union Institute of Cincinnati, 1995.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Recent Posts

Story Fifty-Eight: Even More Winona State Authors

We have already had several stories from the retention list which featured WSU faculty (Elizabeth Oness, Cal Fremling, Robin DeVinney, Brian Aldrich, etc.) Here are two more titles on the WSU retention list by current and former WSU faculty.Holmes, Barbara D. Dissertation Development Strategies: A Doctoral Student Resource. Lakewood, CA: Avid Readers Publishing Group, 2010.Daniel, Ajit K. Voices of Nations: A Comparative Analysis of Three International Radio News Editorial Orientations: Voice of America, All India Radio, and British Broadcasting Corporation. Thesis (Ph.D)--Union Institute of Cincinnati, 1995.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Fifty-Seven: Before the Origin of Species

Charles Darwin and Abraham Lincoln share a birthday in February. Books by Charles Darwin published in his lifetime are widely held in Minnesota, but a collection of his notebooks from the voyage of the Beagle is on the Krueger Library’s retention list. Darwin, Charles, et al. Charles Darwin’s Notebooks from the Voyage of the Beagle. Cambridge University Press, 2009. Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection. ...

Story Fifty-Six: As a matter of fact, the river is frozen, why do you ask?

The Frozen River Film Festival ends its twentieth year today. One of the movies shown today was a documentary about the life of Robert Trivers, called “Wild Genius.” Though he suffered from schizophrenia, among his many accomplishments, Trivers worked out the mathematics of reciprocal altruism in evolutionary biology. One of his books on psychology is on the Krueger Library’s retention list.Trivers, Robert. Deceit and Self-Deception: Fooling Yourself the Better to Fool Others. London: Allen Lane, 2011.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection. ...

Story Fifty-Five: Senator Kierlin

It was announced today that former State Senator Bob Kierlin, founder of Fastenal, Winona's largest publicly traded company, has passed away. Senator Kierlin's book about Fastenal is on the Krueger Library retention list.Kierlin, Robert A. The Power of Fastenal People. Poway, Calif: First Pacific, 1997.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection. ...