Story Forty-Three: What is the AI system’s favorite music? Electronic dance.

11/20/2024

Vernon Leighton

Computer Science,

Management Information Systems (MIS)

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Two years ago, on November 30^th, 2022, ChatGPT was released world-wide as a free service. Since then, artificial intelligence has dominated Wall Street and even the Nobel Prizes. The Computer Science department has long studied artificial intelligence and many books on that topic are on the retention list of the Krueger Library.

Heaton, Jeff. Artificial Intelligence for Humans. Three volumes. St. Louis, MO: Heaton Research, Inc., 2013.

No Tags

Back to Retention List Stories

Recent Posts

Story Forty-Three: What is the AI system’s favorite music? Electronic dance.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.Two years ago, on November 30th, 2022, ChatGPT was released world-wide as a free service. Since then, artificial intelligence has dominated Wall Street and even the Nobel Prizes. The Computer Science department has long studied artificial intelligence and many books on that topic are on the retention list of the Krueger Library.Heaton, Jeff. Artificial Intelligence for Humans. Three volumes. St. Louis, MO: Heaton Research, Inc., 2013....

Story Forty-Two: Paper Airplanes

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection. In case you were worried that we had exhausted the humorous titles, it is time to pay tribute to paper airplanes. Steidl, Robert H. Stick-Paper Airplanes. Abelard-Schuman, 1971. ...

Story Forty-One: Presidents of the United States

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection. Regardless of who won the presidential election yesterday, some of the books on the WSU retention list discuss presidencies past. Daynes, Byron W. and Glen Sussman. The American Presidency and the Social Agenda. Prentice Hall, 2001. Bailey, Harry A. and Jay M. Shafritz. The American Presidency: Historical and Contemporary Perspectives. Dorsey Press, 1988. ...

Story Forty: The Lives of the Saints

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection. November 1st is celebrated in the several different Christian denominations as All Hallows’ Day, or All Saints Day. The College of St. Theresa in Winona closed its doors in the 1980s. At the time, Winona State purchased that college’s Children’s Literature collection because it was much more extensive than our own. Because of that purchase, for a public university, Winona State has a relatively large collection of children’s books about Catholic saints. Indeed, about half of all the books on our retention list that deal with Catholic theology are in the children’s collection, and conversely, a significant number of the children’s book on our retention list deal with the lives of the saints. Diethelm, Walther. Saint Pius X, the Farm Boy Who Became Pope. Vision Books, 1956. ...