WSU Retention List Stories - Research Hub at Winona State University

Local history on the retention list includes books about communities adjacent to Winona, but in Wisconsin: one from Arcadia and one from Fountain City.

Bryan, Brad. Arcadians Each and All: “From Newspaper Archives.” Pathagorous Press, 2005.

Johnson, Dwight A. Fountain City May Have Talkie Shows: The Story of a Small Town and Its Weekly Newspaper. Arlan Communications, 1994.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Recent Posts

Story Seventy-Four: [Guitar riff] It was Eighty Years Ago Today, when a Doctor wrote to Nils Minné …

Nils Minné was the President of Winona State from 1944 to 1967, spanning the entirety of the Baby Boom generation. One of the books on our retention list was a gift to Dr. Minné from its author (who, by the way, did earn a Ph.D. in 1938) soon after Minné began his tenure as president of Winona State. As the title suggests, it presents some of the advantages and disadvantages of the Ph. D.Dr. Minné retired just about the time that the Beatles released the album Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band. No word yet on whether Dr. Minné was the Eggman or the Walrus.Atkinson, Carroll. Pro and Con of the Ph. D. Meador Publishing Company, 1945.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Seventy-Three: Sports and Marketing: The Last Two Departments

In the last seventeen months, we have found a book on the retention list for every single academic department at Winona State except for 1) Marketing and 2) Physical Education and Sports Science. Here is one book for both of those departments.Davis, John A, and Jessica Zutz Hilbert. Sports Marketing: Creating Long Term Value. Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar, 2013.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Seventy-Two: School’s Out! But not for these educators

Some educators advocate for year-round K-12 schooling. Our books on that subject circulate more than many other education books. This volume on the Krueger Library retention list refers to year-round schooling as a dream, but what would the schoolchildren call it? To quote Ben Stein, “Bueller? … Bueller? … Bueller?” Still, this book might be something to read over the summer.National Council on Year-round Education. Colorado State Board of Education. Year-Round Education, Dream and Reality: A Report of the 7th National Seminar on Year-Round Education, May 11-14, 1975, Denver. 1975.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Seventy-One: Move Over Margaret Mead

Move over Margaret Mead! Ethnographers are now exploring electronic media, as in this book on the Krueger Library’s retention list.Machin, David. Ethnographic Research for Media Studies. London: Arnold, 2002.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Twenty-Nine: Local History, but Across the River