Stories from the Stacks: The Krueger Library Blog

EBSCO, the database vendor for CINAHL. Academic Search Premier, ERIC, America: History and Life, PsycArticles and more, has updated their search interface. While it looks very different, the content is same. 

See all EBSCO databases: EBSCO Databases

A few notable changes: 

1. The URLs at the top of the page are now permalinks. The old permalinks should continue to work. 
2. The most commonly used filters appear on the main page for both the basic and advanced menu. 
3. Subject Thesauri, such as the APA Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms and the CINAHL Subject Headings, appear as a column in the Advanced Menu, rather than a tab at the top of the page. 

We are working with EBSCO to make a few changes, such as: 

1. The Archives Viewer in the American Antiquarian Periodicals databases is currently not working. It should be fixed in January 2025. See more: AAS FAQ. 
2. Request to have the Cited In option available again. 

Krueger FAQs

We are updating Krueger Library's FAQ page as issues and questions arise: EBSCO FAQs 

Tutorials from EBSCO

• Advanced Search Guide

   

On December 19th, EBSCOhost is rolling out a new search interface for most of its databases. EBSCO is the vendor of CINAHL, Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and many more. 

While the databases look very different, the content has not changed. All of the same journals, books, and other resources are still available from the databases. 

A few of the access options will be turned off until we move fully to the new interfaces. However, the databases are fully functional. Try them now: 

• Academic Search Premier
• Business Source Premier*
• CINAHL Ultimate
• ERIC
• PsycArticles 
• PsycInfo
• World Politics Review
• All EBSCO Metasearch (search of all EBSCO databases)

See a complete listing of all EBSCO databases on our A-Z page. Note that a few of the databases, such as Learning Express, Points of View Reference Source, and those intended for K-12 audience, will have a different interface. 

*Business Source Premier will continue to be available with the Business Searching Interface and the new searching interface. Both options will appear on the A-Z list. 

Comments/Questions

If you have any problems accessing content, please contact the library at library@winona.edu

See our EBSCO related FAQs. 

New EBSCO Tutorials

For many years, library leaders in Minnesota have worked to create a distributed research collection in the state. In 2022, the state agency Minitex provided funding to support this effort, in what is called the Minnesota Shared Print Program. Twenty-four Minnesota libraries have joined together and are committed to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota, which we are calling the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Winona State’s share of this collection is about sixteen thousand titles. As we label the books, we have found interesting stories about our collection. Here are twenty stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Story 1: Polymer Composites at WSU

Story 2: Boolean: AND, OR, ... NOT!

Story 3: Winona Normal School: the First Teacher’s College West of the Mississippi.

Story 4: Beer and Philosophy

Story 5: Retained Books versus Notable Books

Story 6: Who’s afraid of J. Edgar Hoover?

Story 7: Book Donations to the Library

Story 8: Preserving All Voices

Story 9: Lean Management

Story 10: The Economy of Bangladesh

Story 11: A Bible on the List

Story 12: WSU Authors

Story 13: By the Sweat of Children's Brows

Story 14: Nursing Books were Excluded from the List … Mostly

Story 15: In Search of Bobby Fischer

Story 16: Books about the Community of Winona and about Winona State Itself

Story 17: Concerns for a Sustainable Future

Story 18: To quote “Young Frankenstein”: “It could be worse; it could be raining.” 

Story 19: Back to the Future

Story 20: A score of musical scores

Story 21: Slave Narratives on Juneteenth

Story 22: Diversity of Courage

Story 23: History’s Less-Famous Battles

Story 24: “What do you read, my lord?” “Words, words, words.” – Hamlet

Story 25: Old News about Rigged Elections 

Story 26: The Mighty Mississippi

Story 27: Housing in Developing Countries

Story 28: Books about Learning without Books

Story 29: Local History, but Across the River

Story 30: The Two Certainties: Death and Taxes

Story 31: Organized Labor 

Story 32: River Conservation

Story 33: A Rare Book about Remembering 9/11

Story 34: They came from Outer Space … or did they? 

Story 35: "What is difficult is the perseverance" – A Tai Chi proverb

Story 36: Flood Control, Winona Style

Story 37: Child Advocacy Studies

Story 38: Salvos from an Earlier "Reading War"

Story 39: Fall into the GAAP: Generally Accepted Accounting Principles

Story 40: The Lives of the Saints

Story 41: Presidents of the United States

Story 42: Paper Airplanes!

Story 43: What is the AI system’s favorite music? Electronic dance.

Story 44: Songs of Bibliographic Innocence and Experience

Story 45: An Early Anti-Vaxxer Book

Story 46: Kindergarteners Singing

Story 47: Biology for the Curious