Skip to Main Content
Winona State University
Locations ⌵
Winona Campus Rochester Campus
Book a Room Ask the Library My Account
Krueger Library
Search ⌵
Search Overview Research Guides & Tutorials WorldCat: WSU & Beyond Databases A-Z Course Reserves Periodicals by Title Open River: Digital Collections Archives & Special Collections
Services ⌵
Services Overview Borrow & Request Research Help Faculty Services Tutoring Services Digital Learning Commons
Collections ⌵
Collections Overview Databases A-Z Archives & Special Collections Virtual Displays Open River: Digital Collections Library Art Government Documents
About Us ⌵
About Us Overview Mission & Goals Contact Us Subject Librarian Liaisons Policies Library FAQs

Nursing (Graduate): Thesis / SIP / DNP Projects

What is a Literature Review?

Literature Review Matrix

Types of Literature Reviews

Some literature reviews are standalone publications with specific research methods, protocols and purposes. These are considered filtered evidence. since they combine and filter many primary studies. 

Literature Reviews as Research Methods

Systematic Review

Scoping Review

Meta-synthesis or Qualitative Systematic Review

Research Question or PICOt

Based on pre-determined PICOt.

Exploratory, often asking an open question initially. 

May be used to find gap in research or determine feasibility of a systematic review.

Open-ended question. Usually asking why something is happening or what the experience is like.

Scope

Comprehensive and narrow, focused on a clinical question (PICOt)

Very broad. Scope may change some from initial search. 

Fairly broad. Investigating why behind of a phenomenon. 

Protocols / Detailed explanation

Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Review

And

PRIMSA Guidelines

Arksey and O’Malley (2005). Scoping studies: towards a methodological framework

 

Mak, S., & Thomas, A. (2022). An Introduction to Scoping Reviews. Journal of graduate medical education, 14(5), 561–564. https://doi.org/10.4300/JGME-D-22-00620.1

Cochrane Qualitative & Implementation Methods Group

Research Designs Included in study selection/ data extraction

Quantitative research.

Mostly randomized control trials and some quasi-experimental designs. In some SRs, case control and cohort studies are investigated. Studies are evaluated heavily for quality. 

Varies, not restricted by research design. 

Qualitative research. 

Example

Persistent symptoms among post-COVID-19 survivors: A systematic review and meta-analysis

 Zwack, C. C., Smith, C., Poulsen, V., Raffoul, N., & Redfern, J. (2023). Information Needs and Communication Strategies for People with Coronary Heart Disease: A Scoping Review. International journal of environmental research and public health, 20(3), 1723. https://doi.org/10.3390/ijerph20031723

Nurses’ barriers to caring for patients with COVID‐19: a qualitative systematic review

 

 

Research Team

Completed as a large team to avoid bias. Often includes a statistician and a medical librarian. 

Usually a smaller team. Meant to be completed in shorter time period than a systematic review. 

 Varies. 

Notes

Considered highest level of evidence. Often includes a meta-analysis.

When available, SRs are the basis for Practice Guidelines and Protocols  

Search Logs

About Literature Reviews