Databases and Ebooks
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new windowSearch the indices of Krueger Library's Reference Collection (print and electronic books).
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowFull text resource for a diverse range of subjects. Types of sources include general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias.
- Gale Reference: MedicineFind prescription drug guides, nutrition information and basic information on health issues and conditions.
The American Heritage Medical Dictionary by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0618947256Publication Date: 2015
- Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Find information about body systems, organs, muscles, bones, etc.
Video
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive video database, with over 70,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowView documentary features and clips online in this library provided by Films for the Humanities and Sciences.
Drug Guides
Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students 14th ed. by
From the most-trusted name in nursing comes the handbook designed to help you understand common drug families and interactions. Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students, 14th Edition provides you with the latest information on more than 4,000 generic and trade-name drugs, along with the latest FDA-approved medications. Side-effects are organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, informing you of what signs to watch for during assessments. In addition, drug monographs are arranged alphabetically, and each includes clear dosing, administration, and nursing process information so you are ready for clinicals. In fact, what sets this handbook apart is its detailed coverage of rationales and explanations, drug-specific nursing diagnoses, administration of IV drugs, and medication safety - helping you understand how families of drugs work together. More than 4,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Black Box Warnings alert you to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Additional online-only drug monographson the companion Evolve website provide information on even more medications. Safety Alert icon denotes the most critical drug interactions and side effects. Bold headings in coverage of IV drug administration highlight dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Logical organization of side effects information shows you what signs to watch for during assessments. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, while the full-color design highlights important information. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug, as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Cross-references indicate where drug information can be found in the appendixes. NEW! Appendix with new drugs for 2022. NEW! Updated Drug Categories that include the new 2022 drugs. NEW! The most up-to-date information on drug dosages, warnings, and patient information ensures you understand the safe administration of common classes of drugs, as well as their common side effects and interactions.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780323694056Publication Date: 2021- Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students by
From the most-trusted name in nursing comes the handbook designed to help you understand common drug families and interactions. Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students, 14th Edition provides you with the latest information on more than 4,000 generic and trade-name drugs, along with the latest FDA-approved medications. Side-effects are organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, informing you of what signs to watch for during assessments. In addition, drug monographs are arranged alphabetically, and each includes clear dosing, administration, and nursing process information so you are ready for clinicals. In fact, what sets this handbook apart is its detailed coverage of rationales and explanations, drug-specific nursing diagnoses, administration of IV drugs, and medication safety - helping you understand how families of drugs work together. More than 4,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Black Box Warnings alert you to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Additional online-only drug monographson the companion Evolve website provide information on even more medications. Safety Alert icon denotes the most critical drug interactions and side effects. Bold headings in coverage of IV drug administration highlight dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Logical organization of side effects information shows you what signs to watch for during assessments. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, while the full-color design highlights important information. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug, as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Cross-references indicate where drug information can be found in the appendixes. NEW! Appendix with new drugs for 2022. NEW! Updated Drug Categories that include the new 2022 drugs. NEW! The most up-to-date information on drug dosages, warnings, and patient information ensures you understand the safe administration of common classes of drugs, as well as their common side effects and interactions.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780323694056Publication Date: 2020-04-08
Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2023 by
Ensure safe and effective drug therapy with this easy-to-use handbook! Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2023 provides you with current, detailed information on more than 1,000 generic and 4,000 trade name drugs. This handy, user-friendly guide includes updated uses, dosage forms, warnings, side effects and adverse reactions, IV drug administration, nursing considerations, and much more. Organized alphabetically by generic drug name for quick reference, this book stands out from the others in guiding the nurse through the steps essential to quality patient care. New drug monographs cover 25 new FDA-approved medications! More than 1,000 generic name drugs, encompassing over 4,000 trade name drugs, are organized alphabetically with A-to-Z tabs for quick and easy access. UNIQUE! Herbal information is included in the appendix and on the Evolve website, covering the interactions and effects of commonly encountered herbs. Detailed information for each drug includes side effects listed by frequency, and adverse effects and reactions requiring prompt intervention. Drugs by Disorder are listed in the front of the book for easy reference, showing common disorders and the drugs most often used for treatment. Drug Classifications section features an overview of actions and uses for drug families. Black Box Alerts and High Alert drugs are highlighted to promote safe administration of drugs that pose the greatest risk for patient harm, and Do Not Confuse With warnings call out drug names that sound alike or look alike. Top 100 Drugs list identifies the most frequently administered drugs. Cross-references to the 400 top U.S. brand-name drugs are located throughout the book for easy access. List of newly approved medications in the front of the book makes it easy to locate the latest drugs. Nursing considerations are organized in a functional nursing process framework and include baseline assessment, intervention/evaluation, and patient/family teaching. Information on lifespan and disorder-related dosage variations covers special considerations for pediatric, geriatric, hepatic, and immune- or renal-compromised patients. Extensive IV content includes IV compatibilities/IV incompatibilities and breaks down key information on reconstitution, rate of administration, and storage. IV Compatibility Chart foldout includes comprehensive compatibility information for 65 intravenous drugs. Fixed combinations are included in dosages of each combined drug directly within the individual monographs, to help students understand different drug dose options for specific diseases. Customizable and printable monographs for 100 of the most commonly used drugs are located on Evolve, along with quarterly drug updates. More than 1,000 generic name drugs, encompassing over 4,000 trade name drugs, are organized alphabetically with A-to-Z tabs for quick and easy access. UNIQUE! Herbal information is included in the appendix and on the Evolve website, covering the interactions and effects of commonly encountered herbs. Detailed information for each drug includes side effects listed by frequency, and adverse effects and reactions requiring prompt intervention. Drugs by Disorder are listed in the front of the book for easy reference, showing common disorders and the drugs most often used for treatment. Drug Classifications section features an overview of actions and uses for drug families. Black Box Alerts and High Alert drugs are highlighted to promote safe administration of drugs that pose the greatest risk for patient harm, and Do Not Confuse With warnings call out drug names that sound alike or look alike. Top 100 Drugs list identifies the most frequently administered drugs. Cross-references to the 400 top U.S. brand-name drugs are located throughout the book for easy access. List of newly approved medications in the front of the book makes it easy to locate the latest drugs. Nursing considerations are organized in a functional nursing process framework and include baseline assessment, intervention/evaluation, and patient/family teaching. Information on lifespan and disorder-related dosage variations covers special considerations for pediatric, geriatric, hepatic, and immune- or renal-compromised patients. Extensive IV content includes IV compatibilities/IV incompatibilities and breaks down key information on reconstitution, rate of administration, and storage. IV Compatibility Chart foldout includes comprehensive compatibility information for 65 intravenous drugs. Fixed combinations are included in dosages of each combined drug directly within the individual monographs, to help students understand different drug dose options for specific diseases. Customizable and printable monographs for 100 of the most commonly used drugs are located on Evolve, along with quarterly drug updates.
Call Number: Reference Collection - 1st Floor ; RM125 .H572 2022ISBN: 9780323930765Publication Date: 2022-05-03
Gale Encyclopedia of Prescription Drugs by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781573027427Publication Date: 2015-08-21
Consumer Drug Guides
- WebMD Drug GuideFind basic information about prescription medications,
Consumer Health Databases
- Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.
- Alt Health Watch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Some full text.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Consumer health information in the following areas: medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. Full text.
