Librarian
Chat with a librarian
Databases with Test Reviews (including validity and reliability testing)
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Contains full text information about and reviews of over 2,000 commercially available English-language tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Actual tests are not available through ILL/Resource Sharing.
Search for articles by the Scale or Instrument Used
Many databases have field searches for the test, scale, or instrument used in the research. The results are articles where the instrument was used in the research, so it may not be specifically about the scale. However, many researchers report some validity and reliability testing in their methods.
This field search works best if you know the exact name of the test you are interested in. Most of these scales are proper nouns with names that are consistent from article to article, such as the Pain and Pain Management scale or the Beck Depression Inventory–II.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health. Virtually all English-language publications are indexed along with the publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Some full text.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
More than 25,000 searchable full text articles from 42 journals published by the APA and allied organizations from 1988, with earlier years in production.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
International literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Via EBSCO. The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 317,000 full text documents dating back to 1966.
Instruments in CINAHL
Select IN Instrumentation to search for research using a particular scale or instrument.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health. Virtually all English-language publications are indexed along with the publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Some full text.
Tests in PsycArticles & PsycInfo
Select the field TM Test and Measures from the drop down search menu.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
More than 25,000 searchable full text articles from 42 journals published by the APA and allied organizations from 1988, with earlier years in production.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
International literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Field Searching for Assessments in ERIC
In the Advanced Menu. select the search field SB Assessment and Survey Identifiers
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Via EBSCO. The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 317,000 full text documents dating back to 1966.
HealthCare Assessment Tools: Common and Basic Tools for Quick Screening
- Health Check Tools: NIHAssess your health with interactive tools such as calculators, quizzes, and questionnaires. You can check your risk for heart disease, calculate your ideal weight and body mass, find out how many calories your favorite exercise burns, and more.
Checklist for Finding articles about an Instrument
Validity and Reliability Testing
Validity and reliability testing and other reviews on specific tests tend to be very small searches. A basic keyword search for the name of the test and any known variants in PubMed and several meta-searches will give the best chance of results. Meta-searches are combined searches of two or more databases, catalogues, or indexes.
Example of keyword search for a scale: "Beck Depression Inventory" OR BDI
A search for the scale in the following discovery/meta-searches and WorldCat should be comprehensive.
- EBSCO Meta-search This link opens in a new window
General entry point for all EBSCO databases available at WSU, including Academic Search Premier, CINAHL, ERIC, PsycArticles, PsycInfo, Business Search Premier, and others. See a complete list: WSU EBSCO Databases.
- ProQuest Meta-search This link opens in a new window
Search across the ProQuest databases, including American Periodicals, GeoRef, ERIC, U.S. Newsstream, Nursing & Allied Heath. Materials Science & Engineering Collection, and Sociological Abstracts.
See a complete list of Proquest Databases at Krueger Library.
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowProvides simple, one-stop searching for books, eBooks, videos, articles, digital media, and more at the Krueger Library.
Sign in with your WSU Star ID to renew books, view your Resource Sharing/ILL requests, create favorites lists, and more. - WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new windowSearch thousands of libraries around the world for print and electronic items. Find links to request items from Krueger holdings and request items via Resource Sharing.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Most comprehensive index of medical research in the world. Many articles are available through open access.
Look for
for links to our holdings or to request via interlibrary loan/Resource Sharing.
