Skip to Main Content
Winona State University
Locations ⌵
Winona Campus Rochester Campus
Book a Room Ask the Library My Account
Krueger Library
Search ⌵
Search Overview Research Guides & Tutorials WorldCat: WSU & Beyond Databases A-Z Course Reserves Periodicals by Title Open River: Digital Collections Archives & Special Collections
Services ⌵
Services Overview Borrow & Request Research Help Faculty Services Tutoring Services Digital Learning Commons
Collections ⌵
Collections Overview Databases A-Z Archives & Special Collections Virtual Displays Open River: Digital Collections Library Art Government Documents
About Us ⌵
About Us Overview Mission & Goals Contact Us Subject Librarian Liaisons Policies Library FAQs

Nursing (Graduate): Thesis / SIP / DNP Projects

Comprehensive Search Checklist

This checklist is intended as a general outline of items to complete. In practice, the database searches will likely require multiple sessions. In the literature discovery process, you are likely to learn new keywords, MeSH terms and Subject Heading (CINAHL) that will alter your searches. You may also need to readjust elements of your PICO based on initial searches. A search log is highly recommended to track terms and results. 

  1. Search CINAHL
  2. Search in PubMed
  3. Search in additional relevant databases such as: PsychArticles, Science Direct, or OVID
  4. Mined references (backward referencing) of highly relevant articles (See Citation Mining)
  5. Forward searched highly relevant articles in Web of Science, Google Scholar and PubMed (see Forward Searching)

It is also highly recommended that you meet with a librarian to review your search. A librarian can help verify if your database searches are exhaustive.  

Forward Citation Searching

While a reference list provides an excellent source of similar articles at the time an article is written. many databases also provide lists of articles that cited the article later. This is often called forward searching, since it works something like a reference list into the future. Several databases include a list of "Cited By" articles, including: 

  • PubMed 
  • CINAHL  not available in new interface.
  • OVID
  • Web of Science
  • Google Scholar

Cited By in PubMed

From the article record / abstract page, find link to "Cited By" on the right sidebar.

A Cited By list also appears at the bottom of the record.

 

 

Citing Articles in OVID

From the main article record page, open the Full-featured View. Under the Tools section, select Find CIting Articles. 

 

Citation Mining

Citation mining refers to using the references of relevant articles to find additional sources. This is also called backwards citation searching since the reference list only includes articles that were published before the article referencing them. 

Search by DOI or PMID

If the citation includes a PMID or DOI, you can search with only that unique identifier. 

Lookup a journal article by DOI or PMID

 

*Tip: DOIs start with 10.###   Omit any HTTP or HTTPS. See this FAQ for details.