Research Hub: Nursing (Graduate): Thesis / SIP / DNP Projects: Research Databases

Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Krueger Library 126

Subjects: Health, Exercise, and Rehabilitative Sciences (HERS), Healthcare Leadership & Administration (HLA), Library and Information Science, Mathematics and Statistics, Nursing, Physics, Public Health

Chat with Amanda

Health Sciences Research Databases

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health. Virtually all English-language publications are indexed along with the publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Some full text.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The strongest database in medicine. Also strong in biology, chemistry, and neuroscience.
Nursing Collection@OVID This link opens in a new window
Full text of 48 core nursing journals (1995-).
Access limited to 17 simultaneous users among 15 schools.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Notes: After logging in with your StarID, you will be prompted to create a separate, free account with UpTo Date.
Users must log-in from on- campus at least once every 90 days to verify their continued affiliation with the university.
More info: https://www.wolterskluwer.com/en/solutions/uptodate/resources/maintaining-access
Concise topic reviews that include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations for patient care. Over 10,500 topics in 22 specialties.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Access is limited to three users at a time.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
More than 250 leading full text journals in nursing and allied health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly health resources, many with full text.
Cochrane Summaries This link opens in a new window
Access to the abstracts and, when available, the plain language summaries of all Cochrane systematic reviews.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
More than 25,000 searchable full text articles from 42 journals published by the APA and allied organizations from 1988, with earlier years in production.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
International literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Sports Medicine & Education Index (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Coverage from 1970. No full text.

Sources for Filtered Research (Systematic Reviews, Meta-analyses)

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Access is limited to three users at a time.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Notes: After logging in with your StarID, you will be prompted to create a separate, free account with UpTo Date.
Users must log-in from on- campus at least once every 90 days to verify their continued affiliation with the university.
More info: https://www.wolterskluwer.com/en/solutions/uptodate/resources/maintaining-access
Concise topic reviews that include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations for patient care. Over 10,500 topics in 22 specialties.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed has limiters for systematic reviews, randomized control trials and meta-analyses.

Evidence-based Practice Centers (AHRQ)
Evidence-based Practice Centers is a program of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. Find research synthesis reports from the United States and Canada.
Oxford Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine
The Oxford Centre of Evidence-Based Medicine produces systematic reviews and other synthesized studies of data and research.
PEDro
An open database of over 57,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions.

Assessments/Measurements (Test reviews)

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Contains full text information about and reviews of over 2,000 commercially available English-language tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Actual tests are not available through ILL/Resource Sharing.

CINAHL: Research Instrument Records
Research Instrument records are a brief description of a scale, its uses, validity and reliability testing, the copyright holder and other helpful information if you are interested in using a scale.
more...less...
Add a keyword to narrow your search.

Find Clinical Trials

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the health care system and help Americans, health care professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions.
Trip Medical Database
The Trip database is a metasearch of medical research. You can filter by research type, including systematic reviews and randomized control trials.
more...less...
The Trip database is often used to verify that a review is comprehensive.
Clinical Trials Registry (NIH)
ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
more...less...
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry of trials, rather than a database of peer-reviewed reports. Trials are registered and updated by the research team. Registering and updating the results of the trials can reduce publication bias and help researchers identify trials before a peer reviewed publication is produced. However, the trials may not have undergone an independent vetting process.
International Clinical Trial Registry (World Health Organization)

LibKey.IO DOI/PMID Search Box

*Tip: DOIs start with 10.### Omit any HTTP or HTTPS. See this FAQ for details.

Resource Sharing (Interlibrary Loan)

Articles, books, or other materials can be requested from other libraries via Resource Sharing (ILL).

Use Find It to search by title, DOI, or PMID.

For items not appearing in a search, use the blank Resource Sharing form.

Darrell W. Krueger Library Krueger Library

Nursing (Graduate): Thesis / SIP / DNP Projects