Librarian
Chat with Amanda
NURS 354 Overview
Health Science Primary Research Databases
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health. Virtually all English-language publications are indexed along with the publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Some full text.
- Nursing Collection@OVID This link opens in a new window
Full text of 48 core nursing journals (1995-).
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly health resources, many with full text.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
The strongest database in medicine. Also strong in biology, chemistry, and neuroscience.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Concise topic reviews that include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations for patient care. Over 10,500 topics in 22 specialties.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering the social sciences, humanities, and arts. Some journal issues extend back to the 19th century. Full text.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
More than 25,000 searchable full text articles from 42 journals published by the APA and allied organizations from 1988, with earlier years in production.
Databases for Systematic Reviews & Meta-analysis (filtered research)
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed has limiters for systematic reviews, randomized control trials and meta-analyses.
- Oxford Centre for Evidence-Based MedicineThe Oxford Centre of Evidence-Based Medicine produces systematic reviews and other synthesized studies of data and research.
- PEDroAn open database of over 57,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions.
STEM Databases
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles, mostly in the sciences, though some social sciences. Citations from 1980. Some full text starting in 1993, more full text from 1997.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
More than 25,000 searchable full text articles from 42 journals published by the APA and allied organizations from 1988, with earlier years in production.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowArticles are detailed reviews of a particular topic, often discussing hundreds of recent studies. Most of our access is in biology, chemistry, medicine, and engineering.
- Taylor & Francis Journals This link opens in a new windowSearch all Taylor and Francis Journals, with citations and abstracts. Full text is occasionally available.
Find Clinical Trials
- Trip Medical DatabaseThe Trip database is a metasearch of medical research. You can filter by research type, including systematic reviews and randomized control trials.
- Clinical Trials Registry (NIH)ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
Resource Sharing (Interlibrary Loan)
Articles, books, or other materials can be requested from other libraries via Resource Sharing (ILL).
Use Find It to search by title, DOI, or PMID.
For items not appearing in a search, use the blank Resource Sharing form.
