Librarian
Chat with Amanda
Health Reference
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new windowSearch the indices of Krueger Library's Reference Collection (print and electronic books).
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowFull text resource for a diverse range of subjects. Types of sources include general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias.
- Gale Reference: MedicineFind prescription drug guides, nutrition information and basic information on health issues and conditions.
The American Heritage Medical Dictionary by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0618947256Publication Date: 2015
- Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Find information about body systems, organs, muscles, bones, etc.
Health Statistics (primary)
Primary data sets are the original data collected by institutions and researchers. Reputable data sources usually report their collection methods. In many cases, you can filter and download data sets.
- Agency for Healthcare Research and QualityThe Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the health care system and help Americans, health care professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions.
- National Institute of Child Health and Human Development datasetsHuman health data, resources include tissue banks and repositories, datasets and databases, model organisms, genome and DNA sequences, and resource libraries.
- Health, United StatesThe Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services' (DHHS) annual report on the health status of the Nation.
- Healthy People 2030"Healthy People identifies public health priorities to help individuals, organizations, and communities across the United States improve health and well-being. Healthy People 2030, the initiative’s fifth iteration, builds on knowledge gained over the first 4 decades." - About Us
Health Statistics (secondary)
Secondary data sources use data from other sources. They often combine data from multiple sources and create data visualization tools.
- Dartmouth AtlasThe Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care uses data from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid.
Consumer Health Databases
- Alt Health Watch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Some full text. - Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. - Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Consumer health information in the following areas: medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. Full text.
- Gale Reference: MedicineFind prescription drug guides, nutrition information and basic information on health issues and conditions.
Nursing Theory
Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research by
Designated a Doody's Core Title Praise for the previous edition: This reference is valuable to scholars at all levels of nursing and is especially useful to researchers. . . . With this volume at hand consumers of research and theory will learn more easily and quickly.Molly (Mickey) Dougherty, PhD, RN Professor of Nursing, University of North Carolina Editor, Nursing Research What distinguishes this Dictionary from others are its attention to the diversity in inquiry and distinctively nursing 'takes' on key concepts in theory and research. This Dictionary will be a welcome addition to the libraries of both new and experienced researchers." Margarete Sandelowski Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill The fourth edition of this classic dictionary for understanding traditional and new concepts in nursing theory and research encompasses the considerable changes that have occurred in the clinical health sciences since the previous edition was published. It includes updates and new references for entries from the previous edition, and information related to developing areas of research and practice. New content that reflects nursing priorities in research and theory development in the current interprofessional health care environment is featured. This book remains an invaluable reference for nursing students, researchers, theoreticians, and scholars.Key features: Includes new and updated entries on developing national and international research trends, such as translational research, implementation science, and comparative effectiveness research Contains content related to high-priority research areas, such as biological and biobehavioral research, outcomes research, health services research, and participatory models of research Presents cross-references and citations from relevant multinational nursing and interdisciplinary literature sources Incorporates information based on the scrutiny of students and faculty to ensure utmost clarity
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780826106650Publication Date: 2010-12-01
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by
This award-winning nursing reference, meticulously researched by luminaries in the field, represents the state of the art in nursing science. Comprehensive and concise, entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives and demonstrate the depth and breadth of nursing research today. This one-stop reference presents key terms and concepts and clarifies their application to practice. The fourth edition has been substantially updated to contain the latest research for nurse scientists, educators, and students in all clinical specialties. With new information from the National Institute of Nursing Research, this reference is an essential compendium of nursing research for nursing students at any level and researchers in all clinical specialities. New to the Fourth Edition: Extensively revised and updatedProvides new information emphasized by the National Institute of Nursing Research on wellness, end-of-life and palliative care, and health technologyNew entries, including Symptom Management Theory and Self-Management Key Features: Provides the most relevant and current research perspectivesWritten by over 200 experts in the fieldClarifies research applications in practice
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780826133045Publication Date: 2017-07-01
