Research Hub: Early Childhood & Elementary Education: Start Guide: Find Articles

Request an Article: Resource Sharing

Research Databases & Resources

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Education journals from 1983 to the present. Full text from 1994 to present. Journal indexing and some full text for Early Childhood Education Journal, Journal of Research in Childhood Education, International Journal of Early Childhood, Topics in Early Childhood Special Education, and more.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Via EBSCO. The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 317,000 full text documents dating back to 1966.
Many ERIC documents have been removed from the ERIC.ED.GOV website temporarily. If the ED number of the document is less than ED441946 (published before ca. 2001), then Krueger Library might have it in the microform area.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Broad database with both academic and general articles. Many are full text, but some are citation only.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
International literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering the social sciences, humanities, and arts. Some journal issues extend back to the 19th century. Full text.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Database abstracts and indexes thousands of serial publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews. Some full text.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
International literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Some open access full text. Coverage from 1952.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Professional Development Collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. This is the most comprehensive and most valuable collection of full text education journals in the world. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals.
Sports Medicine & Education Index (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
These abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance.

Newspapers & Magazines

Flipster This link opens in a new window
Through Flipster (EBSCO) we have access to a variety of magazines. For children and educators we have Cobblestone, Cobblestone Teachers's Guide, Highlights, and Ladybug. For educators we have magazines such as EdDigest, Diverse: Issues in Higher Education, Discover, Atlantic, Time, Newsweek, The Week, Columbia Journalism Review, New Yorker, and more.
Chronicle of Higher Education (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new window
The top news source for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students. To set up your Chronicle account:
1. Click on the link above.
2. Click on "Sign In" in the top right and create an account using your StarID@winona.edu or StarID@go.winona.edu email as a login. Search for "Winona State University" as your institution.
3. If you are using a tablet or mobile device, the Chronicle is available on an app.
4. Having trouble? Email us!
We also have the Chronicle available in print and microform and in several databases.
New York Times (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new window
New Account Set-up
1. Click on the New York Times (Institutional Subscription) link from our Databases A-Z page or other Krueger Library page.
2. Create an account using your StarID@minnstate.edu or StarID@go.minnstate.edu as your email address and follow the prompts.
Expired Accounts
If your login has expired, use this link to reset your pass.
Troubleshooting
Access from off campus or dorms use your starID@winona.edu or starID@go.winona.edu
Additional New York Times FAQS
If you have a personal paid subscription, you will need to cancel your subscription first. After doing so, you can link our institutional subscription access to your current login. Please note that the WSU institutional subscription does not include the crossword or cooking app. We do have access to the mini crossword.
Historical articles can be accessed via nyt.com, but you can only view five articles published between 1923-1980 per day. If you need access to more than five historical articles, use the Krueger Library's New York Times Historical database.
Note: The New York Times is available through the NYT app on your smart phone or tablet.
Wall Street Journal (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new window
To activate your WSJ account:
1. Click the link above.
2. Enter your Star ID and password.
3. Fill out the subscription form.
4. Repeat these steps every 180 days.
If you are using a tablet or mobile device, the WSJ mobile app is available through WSU Apps. Having trouble? Email us!
Users with an existing account have the option to connect it to the institutional subscription at the bottom of the "Create Account" page.
U.S. Newsstream (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Content and archives (1980s-) from national and regional news sources including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, Chicago Tribune, and Minneapolis Star Tribune.

Find Articles (Step-by-Step Guide)

This "How do I..." guide will instruct you on how to locate articles through the WSU Databases and request articles from other libraries:

Find Articles

The guide did not answer your question? Ask me.

Darrell W. Krueger Library Krueger Library

Early Childhood & Elementary Education: Start Guide

Request an Article: Resource Sharing

Research Databases & Resources

Newspapers & Magazines

New Account Set-up

Expired Accounts

Troubleshooting

Find Articles (Step-by-Step Guide)

VIEW: Select a Database (step-by-step)

VIEW: Find Articles (step-by-step)