Juvenile Literature Collection
- Caldecott Books - WSUA digital display of the Caldcott Winner and Honor books in WSU's Juvenile collection.
- Juvenile Literature Collection - WSUWSU's Juvenile Literature Collection is located on the1st floor Krueger Library.
Resources for Early Childhood & Elementary School Educators
- Britannica Fundamentals This link opens in a new windowInteractive learning modules for children through grade 2. Activities include drawing, reading, games, and geographical exploration.
- Britannica School Elementary This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia content for elementary-age students plus multimedia, timeline, world atlas, country comparison, animal kingdom, and geography explorer features.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new windowThis complete online version of the print encyclopedia includes more than 70,000 articles and over 100,000 links to other web-based content.
- PebbleGo & PebbleGoNext This link opens in a new windowInformational articles, ready-made activities, and literacy supports for students of all abilities. PebbleGo: Animals and Biographies is aligned with grades K-3. Click "PebbleGoNext" to access State and American Indian Studies. PebbleGoNext is aligned to grades 3-6 curriculum.
- Explora Kids This link opens in a new window
Elementary school-appropriate magazines, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and images. Databases Included: Primary Search, Topic Overview K-5, and Primary Search Reference eBooks.
- Ebooks Minnesota K-5 Collection This link opens in a new windowCompilation of fun, vibrant eBook titles for young readers on a wide variety of topics.
Download the MackinVIA app to use Ebooks Minnesota on your phone or tablet device.
Books for Early Childhood & Elementary Education
- EPICA external subscription based digital collection of books for children 12 and under. This is not a official library subscription resource. It does provides short term online access to children's books.
- Ebooks Minnesota K-5 Collection This link opens in a new windowCompilation of fun, vibrant eBook titles for young readers on a wide variety of topics.
Download the MackinVIA app to use Ebooks Minnesota on your phone or tablet device.
- WSU OneSearch - Library CatalogWSU's Catalog and OneSearch can be used for find books, ebooks, streaming video, DVDs, curriculum, and children's literature. After you enter your keywords and hit the search button, in the left navigation column look for the "Location" limiter. Select a collection location such as Children's Literature, of Curriculum Collection to narrow your search.
- WorldCat FirstSearch This link opens in a new windowUse WorldCat if you are looking for books, ebooks, and other resources that have been published in the world. WorldCat catalog includes WSU's collection.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowFull text resource for a diverse range of subjects. Types of sources include general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Research Databases & Resources
- Education Full Text This link opens in a new windowEducation journals from 1983 to the present. Full text from 1994 to present. Journal indexing and some full text for Early Childhood Education Journal, Journal of Research in Childhood Education, International Journal of Early Childhood, Topics in Early Childhood Special Education, and more.
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Via EBSCO. The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 317,000 full text documents dating back to 1966.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Broad database with both academic and general articles. Many are full text, but some are citation only.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
International literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering the social sciences, humanities, and arts. Some journal issues extend back to the 19th century. Full text.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIncludes current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Database abstracts and indexes thousands of serial publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews. Some full text.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowInternational literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Some open access full text. Coverage from 1952.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Professional Development Collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. This is the most comprehensive and most valuable collection of full text education journals in the world. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals.
- Sports Medicine & Education Index (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowThese abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance.
Encyclopedias
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowFull text resource for a diverse range of subjects. Types of sources include general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias.
The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature by Call Number: Online - Credo ReferenceISBN: 9781849721301Publication Date: 2006-02-14With 1,200 biographical-critical entries and nearly 100 topical articles all written by experts in the field, The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature is the most complete and up-to-date single-volume reference source on the subject. The work covers 150 years of children's literature in many cultures: The United States, Great Britain, Canada, continental Europe, Australia, New Zealand, Africa, and Asia. Biographical-critical entries include authors as well as illustrators. A distinguished board of advisers, made up of scholars, editors, librarians, authors, and artists, has helped make this encyclopedia even more user-friendly.
Early Childhood Education by Call Number: Online - Credo ReferenceISBN: 9780313331008Publication Date: 2007-01-30Early childhood education has reached a level of unprecedented national and international focus. Parents, policy makers, and politicians have opinions as well as new questions about what, how, when, and where young children should learn. Teachers and program administrators now find curriculum discussions linked to dramatic new understandings about children's early learning and brain development. Early childhood education is also a major topic of concern internationally, as social policy analysts point to its role in a nation's future economic outlook. As a groundbreaking contribution to its field, this four-volume handbook discusses key historical and contemporary issues, research, theoretical perspectives, national policies, and practices. A wealth of information provides the user with up-to-date expert entries on a plethora of topics. Over three hundred entries in volumes 1, 2, and 3 cover such topics as: accountability assessment biculturalism bullying child abuse early intervention ethnicity Head Start No Child Left Behind Zero to three
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Contemporary Early Childhood Education by Call Number: Online - Credo ReferenceISBN: 9781483340357Publication Date: 2016-09-02The general public often views early childhood education as either simply "babysitting" or as preparation for later learning. Of course, both viewpoints are simplistic. Deep understanding of child development, best educational practices based on development, emergent curriculum, cultural competence and applications of family systems are necessary for high-quality early education. Highly effective early childhood education is rare in that it requires collaboration and transitions among a variety of systems for children from birth through eight years of age. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Contemporary Early Childhood Education presents in three comprehensive volumes advanced research, accurate practical applications of research, historical foundations and key facts from the field of contemporary early childhood education. Through approximately 425 entries, this work includes all areas of child development - physical, cognitive, language, social, emotional, aesthetic - as well as comprehensive review of best educational practices with young children, effective preparation for early childhood professionals and policy making practices, and addresses such questions as: · How is the field of early childhood education defined? · What are the roots of this field of study? · How is the history of early childhood education similar to yet different from the study of public education? · What are the major influences on understandings of best practices in early childhood education?
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Education This link opens in a new windowA dynamic, peer-reviewed digital encyclopedia continuously updated by the world’s leading scholars and researchers (Oxford University Press)
Education Periodicals
Your Librarian
Kendall Larson
she/hers/they
Contact:
Darrell W. Krueger Library 122
Winona State University
Winona, Minnesota
Check out OpenRiver Digital Collections!
Website
Winona State University
Winona, Minnesota
Check out OpenRiver Digital Collections!
Journals & Magazines
- Flipster This link opens in a new windowThrough Flipster (EBSCO) we have access to a variety of magazines. For educators we have access to: Cobblestone, Cobblestone Teachers's Guide, Highlights, and Ladybug. There is also access to EdDigest, Diverse: Issues in Higher Education, Discover, Atlantic, Time, Newsweek, The Week, Columbia Journalism Review, New Yorker, Rolling Stone, and more.
- Chronicle of Higher Education (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new windowThe top news source for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students. To set up your Chronicle account:
1. Click on the link above.
2. Click on "Sign In" in the top right and create an account using your StarID@winona.edu or StarID@go.winona.edu email as a login. Search for "Winona State University" as your institution.
3. If you are using a tablet or mobile device, the Chronicle is available on an app.
4. Having trouble? Email us! - New York Times (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times is a daily newspaper based in New York City. Covers domestic, national, and international news, and publishes opinion pieces, investigative reports, and reviews.
Historical articles can be accessed via nyt.com, but you can only view five articles published between 1923-1980 per day. If you need access to more than five historical articles, use the Krueger Library's New York Times Historical database.
Access Issues? See this FAQ: NYT Troubleshooting
- Wall Street Journal (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new window
Unlimited access to WSJ.com and the WSJ App.
You will need to create a separate account. See details: Wall Street Journal Access
Streaming Video Resources
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowView documentary features and clips online in this library provided by Films for the Humanities and Sciences.
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive video database, with over 70,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
