A curricular content hub specifically designed for K-3 students. Packed with informational articles, ready-made activities, and literacy supports for students of all abilities. Use the drop-down labeled 'Capstone' in the upper right hand corner to access PebbleGo Next: States and American Indian Studies. PebbleGo Next is aligned to grades 3-6 curriculum. A separate link from ELM will be added later this fall.
A external subscription based digital collection of books for children 12 and under. This is not a official library subscription resource. It does provides short term access online access to children's books.
WSU's Catalog and OneSearch can be used for find books, ebooks, streaming video, DVDs, curriculum, and children's literature. After you enter your keywords and hit the search button, in the left navigation column look for the "Location" limiter. Select a collection location such as Children's Literature, of Curriculum Collection to narrow your search.
Education journals from 1983 to the present. Full text from 1994 to present. Journal indexing and some full text for Early Childhood Education Journal, Journal of Research in Childhood Education, International Journal of Early Childhood, Topics in Early Childhood Special Education, and more.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 317,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Many ERIC documents have been removed from the ERIC.ED.GOV website temporarily. If the ED number of the document is less than ED441946 (published before ca. 2001), then Krueger Library might have it in the Microform area.
Expanded access to JSTOR has been provisioned in response to COVID-19. This access is active through December 31, 2020.
Access to thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering the Social Sciences, Humanities, and Arts. Some journal issues extend back to the 19th Century. Full Text.
"This innovative tool combines data collected by the state departments of Education, Human Services, and Health into one online, interactive database. The system protects the privacy of children by not showing data for individual children; it shows population results only. It shows children’s growth and achievement in relation to their participation in a variety of educational and social programs over time." -MECLDS
With 1,200 biographical-critical entries and nearly 100 topical articles all written by experts in the field, The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature is the most complete and up-to-date single-volume reference source on the subject. The work covers 150 years of children's literature in many cultures: The United States, Great Britain, Canada, continental Europe, Australia, New Zealand, Africa, and Asia. Biographical-critical entries include authors as well as illustrators. A distinguished board of advisers, made up of scholars, editors, librarians, authors, and artists, has helped make this encyclopedia even more user-friendly.
Early childhood education has reached a level of unprecedented national and international focus. Parents, policy makers, and politicians have opinions as well as new questions about what, how, when, and where young children should learn. Teachers and program administrators now find curriculum discussions linked to dramatic new understandings about children's early learning and brain development. Early childhood education is also a major topic of concern internationally, as social policy analysts point to its role in a nation's future economic outlook. As a groundbreaking contribution to its field, this four-volume handbook discusses key historical and contemporary issues, research, theoretical perspectives, national policies, and practices. A wealth of information provides the user with up-to-date expert entries on a plethora of topics. Over three hundred entries in volumes 1, 2, and 3 cover such topics as: accountability assessment biculturalism bullying child abuse early intervention ethnicity Head Start No Child Left Behind Zero to three
The general public often views early childhood education as either simply "babysitting" or as preparation for later learning. Of course, both viewpoints are simplistic. Deep understanding of child development, best educational practices based on development, emergent curriculum, cultural competence and applications of family systems are necessary for high-quality early education. Highly effective early childhood education is rare in that it requires collaboration and transitions among a variety of systems for children from birth through eight years of age. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Contemporary Early Childhood Education presents in three comprehensive volumes advanced research, accurate practical applications of research, historical foundations and key facts from the field of contemporary early childhood education. Through approximately 425 entries, this work includes all areas of child development - physical, cognitive, language, social, emotional, aesthetic - as well as comprehensive review of best educational practices with young children, effective preparation for early childhood professionals and policy making practices, and addresses such questions as: · How is the field of early childhood education defined? · What are the roots of this field of study? · How is the history of early childhood education similar to yet different from the study of public education? · What are the major influences on understandings of best practices in early childhood education?
Through Flipster (EBSCO) we have access to a variety of magazines. For children and educators we have Cobblestone, Cobblestone Teachers's Guide, Highlights, and Ladybug. For educators we have magazines such as EdDigest, Diverse: Issues in Higher Education, Discover, Atlantic, Time, Newsweek, The Week, Columbia Journalism Review, New Yorker, and more.
Other titles include Aperture, Art in America, ArtNews, Bitch, Mother Jones, EdDigest, Cobblestone, Cobblestone Teacher's Guide, Lady Bug, Highlights, American Poetry Review, Creative Non-Fiction, and Poets & Writers
The number one news source for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students. To set up your Chronicle account provided by the library:
1. Click on the link above.
2. Click on "log in" in the top right and create an account using your StarID@winona.edu email as a login. Search for "Winona State University" for Institution.
3. If you are using a tablet or mobile device, the Chronicle is available through an app that can be downloaded through WSU Apps.
4. Having trouble? Email us!
To set up your New York Times account provided by the library:
1. Click on the link above.
2. Sign in through the Proxy with your StarID and password
3. Create an account using your Star ID followed by @winona.edu or @go.winona.edu as a login and follow the prompts.
4. If you are using a tablet or mobile device, the New York Times is available through an app that can be downloaded to your device. Login with the NYT account information you created in the steps above.
5. Having trouble? Email us!
If you have already created an account, sign in directly to the New York Times website using your WSU email address.
If your login has expired, use this link to search for Winona State University. Follow the prompts for whether you're on campus or off campus.
Historical articles can be accessed via nyt.com, but if you can only view 5 articles published between 1923 -1980 per day. If you need to access to more than five historical articles, use the New York Times Historical database available through the library.