Early Childhood & Elementary Education: Start Guide

Search the Catalog

The WSU Library has a modest collection of researched materials. For most research topics, you will be able to locate credible books within our collection. Use the WSU Library Catalog (linked below) to locate books in our library. 

FIND Books (A Step-By-Step Guide)

Here's how to find a book using the Krueger Library catalog:

  1. From the library homepage, use the central OneSearch tab search box. From the right drop-down menu next to that search box select Library Catalog--Books & Media.
  2. Enter your search terms. Use just the keywords in your topic. Click the Find button. This searches all fields, including title, author, and description.
  3. With your results lists you can narrow your search with the left navigation "Refine My Results" column.  Select your resource type, date, or other limiter. For example, choosing the Reference Collection (under the Location as a limiter).
  4. Click on the book title for more information and a description. From here, you may able be to look at the table of contents or view a list of subjects associated with the book. Also, note the similar items along the right side.
  5. Cite, export, or save the permalink the library item by using options in the Send to section.
    Check to see if there is the Full text Available section. This will display if full text is available. Use the How to get it section to login and request access/delivery.
  6. Write down the call number. Each book has its own call number. For more information about call numbers, click on the WHAT'S A CALL NUMBER? link.
  7. Make sure the book is available before you...
  8. Go to the shelves to find your book. Main collection books are on the 2nd floor, while the reference collection is on the main floor, behind the reference desk.  Note: During the 2020-2021 academic year the book stacks may have limited access. See the COVID-19 Library Guide for up-to-date information.  
  9. Remember to browse. It's one of the best strategies for locating additional books.

READ: Find a Book

FIND E-Books (A Step-By-Step Guide)

An e-book is an electronic book that is accessible online. For most e-books only one user can access the book at a single time.

If you are off-campus or in the dorms, you will need to login with your WSU username and password.

Many e-books are listed in the Library Catalog:

  1. From the library homepage.
  2. Select the Advanced search option, under the main search box in the OneSearch selection.
  3. Enter your search terms. Click on the Search button.
  4. Once you have a list of books/results, use the left column Refine My Results "limiters" to narrow your search by Location and E-Book Collection - Online.
  5. Look at your ebook titles and click on the title of interest to see the full description. From here, you may able be to look at the table of contents or view a list of subjects associated with the book. Also, note the similar items along the right side.
  6. To access the book, look for the section titled Full Text Availability. Click  on the database listed in this section.
    You may need to login with your StarID to access the database.
  7. In the eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) database, you have the option to either view the eBook Full Text or Download this eBook.
    • eBook Full Text - if you close the browser or are inactive, you will temporarily lose access to the e-book.
    • Download this eBook - You need:
      1. An EbscoHost account. This account is free and it is NOT connected to your starID or WSU accounts.
      2. The latest version of Adobe Digital Editions. The checkout period for most downloaded books is one day.