Research Hub: Health, Exercise, and Rehabilitative Sciences (HERS): Research Databases

Chat with Amanda

Subject Specialists: NURS and HERS

Amanda Pruka

Appointments
amanda.pruka@winona.edu

Aurora Jacobsen

Appointments
aurora.jacobsen@winona.edu

Librarian

Aurora Jacobsen

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Accounting, Child Advocacy Studies (CAST), Health, Exercise, and Rehabilitative Sciences (HERS), Healthcare Leadership & Administration (HLA), Individualized Studies, Library and Information Science, Physical Education and Sports Science (PESS), Recreation, Tourism, and Therapeutic Recreation (RTTR), Social Work

Health Sciences Research Databases

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health. Virtually all English-language publications are indexed along with the publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Some full text.
New CINAHL interface available! The contents of the database are not changing, however, it is getting a very different look.
Try it now: CINAHL Ultimate new interface.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The strongest database in medicine. Also strong in biology, chemistry, and neuroscience.
Nursing Collection@OVID This link opens in a new window
Full text of 48 core nursing journals (1995-).
Access limited to 17 simultaneous users among 15 schools.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Access is limited to three users at a time.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
More than 250 leading full text journals in nursing and allied health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly health resources, many with full text.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
More than 25,000 searchable full text articles from 42 journals published by the APA and allied organizations from 1988, with earlier years in production.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
International literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Sports Medicine & Education Index (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Coverage from 1970. No full text.

Databases for Systematic Reviews & Meta-analysis (filtered research)

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Access is limited to three users at a time.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed has limiters for systematic reviews, randomized control trials and meta-analyses.

Oxford Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine
The Oxford Centre of Evidence-Based Medicine produces systematic reviews and other synthesized studies of data and research.
PEDro
An open database of over 57,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions.

Find a DOI

Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) are permanent tracking numbers for online documents like journal articles. Find a DOI with CrossRef.

Resource Sharing (Interlibrary Loan)

Articles, books, or other materials can be requested from other libraries via Resource Sharing (ILL).

Use Find It to search by title, DOI, or PMID.

For items not appearing in a search, use the blank Resource Sharing form.

LibKey.IO DOI/PMID Search Box

*Tip: DOIs start with 10.### Omit any HTTP or HTTPS. See this FAQ for details.

Find Clinical Trials

Trip Medical Database
The Trip database is a metasearch of medical research. You can filter by research type, including systematic reviews and randomized control trials.
more...less...
The Trip database is often used to verify that a review is comprehensive.
Clinical Trials Registry (NIH)
ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
more...less...
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry of trials, rather than a database of peer-reviewed reports. Trials are registered and updated by the research team. Registering and updating the results of the trials can reduce publication bias and help researchers identify trials before a peer reviewed publication is produced. However, the trials may not have undergone an independent vetting process.
International Clinical Trial Registry (World Health Organization)

Health, Exercise, and Rehabilitative Sciences (HERS)

Chat with Amanda

Subject Specialists: NURS and HERS

Amanda Pruka

Aurora Jacobsen

Librarian

Health Sciences Research Databases

Databases for Systematic Reviews & Meta-analysis (filtered research)

Find a DOI

Resource Sharing (Interlibrary Loan)

LibKey.IO DOI/PMID Search Box

Lookup a journal article by DOI or PMID

Find Clinical Trials

Give

Learn

Connect

Follow