Research Hub: Leadership Education: Start Guide for Graduate Level Research: Find Articles

Request an Article: Resource Sharing

Core Leadership Education Databases

Use these databases to find the best articles from Education Leadership journals.

Some databases provide article citations and abstracts, but not full text. The "Check for Full Text" button checks across databases for full text. If full text is not available, you can request full text through Interlibrary Loan/Resource Sharing.

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
A research database for education students, professionals and policymakers. It includes full-text education journals that cover the essentials of education and related fields of study, including in-depth coverage of special education. Education journals from 1983. Full text from 1994.
Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A database providing bibliographic records covering all areas of educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management and educational research.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Via EBSCO. The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 317,000 full text documents dating back to 1966.
Many ERIC documents have been removed from the ERIC.ED.GOV website temporarily. If the ED number of the document is less than ED441946 (published before ca. 2001), then Krueger Library might have it in the microform area.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: The Humanities and Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world (1861-). Over a million full text dissertations are available for download in PDF format. More than 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Broad database with both academic and general articles. Many are full text, but some are citation only.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering the social sciences, humanities, and arts. Some journal issues extend back to the 19th century. Full text.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
International literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
The major database for mass communications, communication studies, marketing, and related fields. Combined coverage of over 770 titles. Some full text.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Broad database of over 2,100 business and trade journals. Some scholarly, others popular. Some full text, others citation only.
Sports Medicine & Education Index (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Coverage from 1970. No full text.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
International literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Some open access full text. Coverage from 1952.

Newspapers

Chronicle of Higher Education (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new window
The top news source for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students. To set up your Chronicle account:
1. Click on the link above.
2. Click on "Sign In" in the top right and create an account using your StarID@winona.edu or StarID@go.winona.edu email as a login. Search for "Winona State University" as your institution.
3. If you are using a tablet or mobile device, the Chronicle is available on an app.
4. Having trouble? Email us!
We also have the Chronicle available in print and microform and in several databases.
New York Times (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new window
New Account Set-up
1. Click on the New York Times (Institutional Subscription) link from our Databases A-Z page or other Krueger Library page.
2. Create an account using your StarID@minnstate.edu or StarID@go.minnstate.edu as your email address and follow the prompts.
Expired Accounts
If your login has expired, use this link to reset your pass.
Troubleshooting
Access from off campus or dorms use your starID@winona.edu or starID@go.winona.edu
Additional New York Times FAQS
If you have a personal paid subscription, you will need to cancel your subscription first. After doing so, you can link our institutional subscription access to your current login. Please note that the WSU institutional subscription does not include the crossword or cooking app. We do have access to the mini crossword.
Historical articles can be accessed via nyt.com, but you can only view five articles published between 1923-1980 per day. If you need access to more than five historical articles, use the Krueger Library's New York Times Historical database.
Note: The New York Times is available through the NYT app on your smart phone or tablet.
Wall Street Journal (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new window
To activate your WSJ account:
1. Click the link above.
2. Enter your Star ID and password.
3. Fill out the subscription form.
4. Repeat these steps every 180 days.
If you are using a tablet or mobile device, the WSJ mobile app is available through WSU Apps. Having trouble? Email us!
Users with an existing account have the option to connect it to the institutional subscription at the bottom of the "Create Account" page.

Find Articles (Step-by-Step Guide)

This "How do I..." guide will instruct you on how to locate articles through the WSU Databases and request articles from other libraries:

Find Articles

The guide did not answer your question? Ask me.

VIEW: Select a Database (step-by-step)

VIEW: Find Articles (step-by-step)

READ: What is a DOI?

A digital object identifier (DOI) is a unique alphanumeric string assigned to identify articles and provides a persistent link to its location. A DOI starts with the number 10.

Not all articles will have a DOI.

The DOI can be found:

At the top or bottom of the first page of the article near the copyright information:
In the database search results or article record:

If you already have the DOI, you can use it to locate your article:

1. From the Library's home page, directly under the main OneSearch box, select CitationLinker.

2. OR, add the DOI to the end of the following web address: http://dx.doi.org/.

For example: http://dx.doi.org/10.1111/j.1541-0072.2009.00314.x

If you have the citation, use CrossRef to locate the DOI.

Leadership Education: Start Guide for Graduate Level Research