Request an Article: Resource Sharing
Political Science Research Databases
To search for articles, select one of the databases listed below, or return to the Research Hub and browse the Databases by Subject to select the most appropriate subject database for your topic.
Before using a databases make sure you understand the type of content a database provides. For example CQ Researcher provides in-depth reports on current topics written by professional journalists; these reports can be great for topic development and understanding an issue in more depth (and they have some nice bibliographies of sources). However the reports are not scholarly articles. Academic Search has a mix of scholarly articles along with newspapers and magazines and professional publications. JSTOR is a database of primarily all scholar journals (with a spattering of books) and it's great for finding book reviews.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth, non-biased coverage of the most important and controversial issues of the day, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering the social sciences, humanities, and arts. Some journal issues extend back to the 19th century. Full text.
- WestlawNext This link opens in a new windowFull text of court opinions, statutes, and regulations from state and federal governments. In excess of 800 law reviews and journals. Access to a legal encyclopedia, American Jurisprudence, and Black's Law Dictionary. Includes West's KeyCite feature for verification of the status of a case, statute, administrative decision, or regulation. Laws, regulations, reports, and related European Union material is also included. Wondering how to access an article? Check out the FAQ!
- U.S. Newsstream (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowContent and archives (1980s-) from national and regional news sources including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, Chicago Tribune, and Minneapolis Star Tribune.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Broad database with both academic and general articles. Many are full text, but some are citation only.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles, mostly in the sciences, though some social sciences. Citations from 1980. Some full text starting in 1993, more full text from 1997.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
The major database for mass communications, communication studies, marketing, and related fields. Combined coverage of over 770 titles. Some full text.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains hundreds of in-depth abstracts of recent books, book chapters, journal articles, government reports, and dissertations published worldwide. Also offers extensive coverage of new books from scholarly and commercial publishers and valuable reports from public and private agencies in many nations. Some full text.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowFull text journals from Johns Hopkins University Press, emphasizing the humanities and social sciences.
Newspapers & Magazines
- U.S. Newsstream (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowContent and archives (1980s-) from national and regional news sources including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, Chicago Tribune, and Minneapolis Star Tribune.
- Flipster This link opens in a new window
A collection of digital magazines, including The Atlantic, Time, Diverse: Issues in Higher Education, Bloomberg Businessweek, The New Yorker, Rolling Stone, Newsweek, Columbia Journalism Review, Ebony, Forbes, the National Review, and more.
Flipster is available through WSU Apps. You need to use a web browser to download issues into the app to read them. Additional information is available in our Flipster Guide.
Legal Databases
- WestlawNext This link opens in a new windowFull text of court opinions, statutes, and regulations from state and federal governments. In excess of 800 law reviews and journals. Access to a legal encyclopedia, American Jurisprudence, and Black's Law Dictionary. Includes West's KeyCite feature for verification of the status of a case, statute, administrative decision, or regulation. Laws, regulations, reports, and related European Union material is also included. Wondering how to access an article? Check out the FAQ!
Other Resources
- Congressional Research Service ReportsThe Congressional Research Service (CRS) serves as shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress. CRS experts assist at every stage of the legislative process — from the early considerations that precede bill drafting, through committee hearings and floor debate, to the oversight of enacted laws and various agency activities.
