Preliminary Research
You may want to explore several topics and then check in with your professor.
The library has access to many subject-specialized reference sources that would assist in this initial step, such as reference sources about American history, Public Policy, Health Care Policy, Supreme Court history, political parties, social movements, U.S.government and more.
- WSU Library CatalogContains all WSU titles for books, ebooks, videos, government documents, and print journal titles (no individual articles).
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowFull text resource for a diverse range of subjects. Types of sources include general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new windowAccess to standard and academic reference sources on a wide range of topics, including business, law, literature, medicine, technology, and more.
Reference Books
The SAGE Handbook of Political Science by Call Number: Online- Credo ReferenceISBN: 9781529714333Publication Date: 2020The Handbook is arranged over seven core thematic sections: Part 1: Political Theory; Part 2: Methods; Part 3: Political Sociology; Part 4: Comparative Politics; Part 5: Public Policies and Administration; Part 6: International Relations; and Part 7: Major Challenges for Politics and Political Science in the 21st Century.
The Encyclopedia of Political Science by Call Number: Reference JA61 .E513 2011ISBN: 9781933116440Publication Date: 2010-10-12A 21st century approach to the study of politics; Political science needs a resource that serves as a core reference to the central ideas, concepts, and frameworks underlying the study of politics and that highlights the intersections of politics with other disciplines. This comprehensive, multi-volume work traces the evolution of political theories, concepts, research frameworks, and political practices from across the world. As it examines the interplay of political ideas and processes, the encyclopedia also conveys the vitality and excitement of politics in practice. Cognizant of the global nature of political ideas and movements, TEPS reflects a wide range of concepts and frameworks, both Western and non-Western, national and international.
Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections by Call Number: Online-Credo ReferenceISBN: 9781438109947Publication Date: 2009-01-01This new volume contains all the material a reader needs to understand the American election process and its political parties. This complete A-to-Z reference guide covers the people, events, and terms involved in the electoral process. It also provides the history of elections in the United States, focusing primarily on the presidential elections. Appendix material includes the results for every presidential election.
The Oxford Companion to International Relations by Call Number: Online-Credo ReferenceISBN: 9780199738878Publication Date: 2014-04-22International Relations has long been a core discipline within Political Science, one of vast importance for understanding social, cultural, economic and political exchanges across national boundaries.
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements by Call Number: Reference Collection - 1st Floor HN57 .E594 2004ISBN: 9780765680457Publication Date: 2004-08-31This four-volume set examines every social movement in American history - from the great struggles for abolition, civil rights, and women's equality to the more specific quests for prohibition, consumer safety, unemployment insurance, and global justice.
Political Parties and Democracy by Call Number: Reference Collection - 1st Floor JF2051 .P5678 2010ISBN: 9780275987060Publication Date: 2010-07-20Native scholars explore the relationship between political parties and democracy in regions around the world. The development of political parties over the past century is the story of three stages in the pursuit of power: liberation, democratization, and de-democratization. Political Parties and Democracy is comprised of five, stand-alone volumes that probe the realities of political parties at all three stages. In each volume, contributors explore the relationship between political parties and democracy (or democratization) in their nations, providing necessary historical, socioeconomic, and institutional context, as well as the details of contemporary political tensions. Contributors are distinguished indigenous scholars who have lived the truths they tell and are, thus, able to write with unique breadth, depth, and scope. They show the parties of their respective nations as they have developed through history and changing institutional structures, and they explain the balance of power among them_and between them and competing agencies of power_today.
Encyclopedia of Third Parties in America by Call Number: Reference Collection - 1st Floor JK2261 .E474 2000ISBN: 9780765680204Publication Date: 2006-05-15This reference features a section on the history of third parties in America since the Early Republic, and bibliographies of major players and candidates. Coverage ranges from national, regional, and state parties to the major political parties that predate the Democrats and the Republicans.
Encyclopedia of Modern Political Thought by Call Number: Reference JA61 .E48 2013ISBN: 9780872899100Publication Date: 2013This two volume set explores modern and contemporary political thought since 1750, looking at the thinkers, concepts, debates, issues and national traditions that have shaped political thought from the Enlightenment to post-modernism and post-structuralism.
Encyclopedia of Political Theory by Call Number: Reference JA61 .E515 2010ISBN: 9781412958653Publication Date: 2010
Guide to U. S. Health and Health Care Policy by Call Number: Reference RA395.A3 G85 2014ISBN: 9781452270739Publication Date: 2014Guide to U.S. Health and Health Care Policy provides the analytical connections showing students how issues and actions are translated into public policies and institutions for resolving or managing health care issues and crises, such as the recent attempt to reform the national health care system.
Health Care Systems Around the World by Call Number: Reference RA418 .B675 2013 & onlineISBN: 9781452276205Publication Date: 2013This concise reference provides a one-stop point of research that examines major aspects of health care systems for over 190 countries worldwide. In a consistent format, ten major health care categories are systematically examined for each country: 1. Emergency Health Services; 2. Costs of Hospitalization; 3. Costs of Drugs; 4. Major Health Issues; 5. Government Role in Health Care; 6. Insurance; 7. Access to Health Care; 8. Health Care Facilities; 9. Health Care Personnel (doctor level of training, etc.); and 10. Public Health Programs. The volume is organized in alphabetical order of country names. Each country is presented on a two- or three-page spread with the same descriptive and statistical content, allowing readers to compare health care systems from country to country. For example, a reader may compare costs of drugs in France versus the United States versus Canada. Each country spread will feature short entries on the ten health care categories accompanied by charts, table, and photos as appropriate. The work culminates as a unique and essential resource for pre-med and medical students, as well as researchers in sociology, economics, and the health management fields.
Prisons and Prison Systems by Call Number: Reference HV8665 .R67 2006ISBN: 0313328560Publication Date: 2005Prisons have undoubtedly changed over the years, as have penal practices in general, though more so in some countries than others. Prisons and prison systems have long been an overlooked part of criminal justice research, and as a result, limited material is available on many institutions. This comprehensive encyclopedia provides a historical overview of institutions and systems around the world, as well as penal theories, prisoner culture and life, and notable prisoners and personnel.
General Encyclopedia vs. Subject Encyclopedia
A general encyclopedia will contain information about a wide range of topics.
The articles are:
- written by an editor or staff writer (not necessarily experts)
- not usally signed, meaning no author is listed
- short, usually under 100 words in length
- provide an overview on a topic, but not a lot of specific or detailed information
- Examples:
- Encyclopedia Britannica (a Krueger Library Database)
- Encyclopedia Americana (Printed set in the Reference Collection, REF AE5 .E333)
A subject encyclopedia will be more focused and detailed information on a specific subject.
The articles are:
- written typically by an author with professional knowledge or educational background on the topic
- signed by the author
- longer in length; word length varies
- more detailed and specific about a topic than a general encyclopedia
- sources are often cited
- Examples:
- The Encyclopedia of Political Science (print set in the Reference Collection, REF JA61 E513 2011, five volumes).
- The Encyclopedia of Political Theory (print set in the Reference Collection, REF JA61 E515 2010, three volumes).
- The SAGE Handbook of Political Science by Call Number: Online- Credo ReferenceISBN: 9781529714333Publication Date: 2020The Handbook is arranged over seven core thematic sections: Part 1: Political Theory; Part 2: Methods; Part 3: Political Sociology; Part 4: Comparative Politics; Part 5: Public Policies and Administration; Part 6: International Relations; and Part 7: Major Challenges for Politics and Political Science in the 21st Century.
Research Questions [small]
Credo Reference Online Books
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference is an online database of reference books. This is a great resource to browse for topics or learn more about a subject mentioned in class. Check out titles such as:
Other Topics
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth, non-biased coverage of the most important and controversial issues of the day, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) - "The Congressional Research Service (CRS) works exclusively for the United States Congress, providing policy and legal analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of party affiliation. As a legislative branch agency within the Library of Congress, CRS has been a valued and respected resource on Capitol Hill for more than a century." -CRS
As of 2018 CRS publications are now provided to the public by the CRS. Previously the publications were only available through your Congressional Representative or through various repositories that gather them such as the University of Tennessee's collection here - Congressional Research Service.
Note: To see an index of topics, from the main CRS site, leave the search box blank and hit the search button.
