Skip to Main Content

Art + Design: Research Guide

This library guide provides a starting guide to Art+Design databases and helpful tutorials,

Core Art + Design Databases

Articles from art journals are found in many of our databases.  Academic Search, JSTOR, and Expanded Academic are three of the top databases for Art historical research.  For Art Educuation articles, please use Education Full text and ERIC databases.

Some databases provide article citations, but not full text. The Find It! button will link to full text across databases. If full text is not available, request it via Interlibrary Loan.

READ: Select an Article Database (A step-by-step guide)

A database is a searchable electronic index of published articles and/or article citations. To locate articles, select one (or more) of the Krueger Library's databases that is appropriate for your topic.

NOTE: If you are off-campus or in the dorms, you will need to login with your StarID and password. This login will occur when you click to access a database.

  1. From the Library homepage, select the Databases tab.
  2.  Use button titled Databases Subject to choose a database by a subject area. For example:
    • Looking for articles on peer pressure and social media? Start with the Psychology or Communication Studies databases.
    • Looking for articles on caring for "prenatal care" and infants? Start with the Nursing and health related databases.
  3. Or use the ALL Databases or A to Z list if you know the Database's title.
  4. Read the descriptions to choose the best database. There are variety of databases for each subject. You can also consult with a librarian. Librarians are here to help you with your research.
  5. Do you have a broad topic or not sure what subject your topic falls under? Start with a general database by using the Select by Title or A-Z list, to choose a general database such as Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, or CQ Researcher (topical reports). Need more advice?  Check with a librarian or professor for more assistance in selecting a database for your topic.

READ: Find Articles (A step-by-step guide)

Some databases will link to the full-text of the article, while others provide the article citation.

  1. In your database search result, you may see a link for PDF or HTML, which means that you can view, download, email, print the article from that database. Or, ...

  2. For those articles without full text you will see the Find Full Text @ WSU button either below the brief article information or when you click on the title to view the article record.

  3. Click on the "FIND IT Krueger Library" button and a new window will pop up showing full text options at WSU.

  4. Check the publication year of your article.

  5. Then under the "Full Text Availability" section, select the database with the "available from" date coverage for your article (located under each database title).

  6. Under most circumstances, you will be linked to the full text of the article. If not, look for a search box to search for the full text or if you see links to the journal issues, scroll down or click through to the correct volume and issue.

  7. Some articles are available in print and can be found in the Bound (3rd floor) or Current Periodicals (1st floor). Others are available on Microform, which requires the use of a Microform reader. If you are new to Microfilm, please ask for assistance from one of the service desks and through our Microfilm Paging Request Service. Use the Library's Periodicals Request Service to have the library scan the article and email it to you.

  8. If when you click the   button and no full text is available at WSU, you can request the article from another library through our Resource Sharing-InterLibrary Loan (ILL) Service. Here is how you do it:

    • Click Request this Item via WSU Resource Sharing-InterLibrary Loan (ILL).
    • Enter your StarID and password OR:
    • Enter your barcode number (on the back of your Warrior ID) and your password (your last name).
    • All of the necessary article information will be filled in automatically. Check the date for accuracy.
    • Scroll to the bottom of the page, check the copyright box, and click Submit.

Scholarly, Trade & Popular Articles [small]

VIEW: Select a Database (step-by-step)

VIEW: Find Articles (step-by-step)