Find Images for Art and Design
- Artstor Digital Library - Open Access / Public Version This link opens in a new window
ArtStor provides online access to the public for some art images. These images are labeled "Public". WSU does NOT have subscription level access to ArtStor.
- The Met: Metropolitan Museum of Art New York CityBrowse more than 492,000 Open Access works in The Online Collection by selecting the Open Access filter in search. All Open Access images also have an “OA” icon, Open Access icon , at the lower left of the image.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaDiscover 51,911,756 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
- Getty Search Gateway - Open Content ProgramThis subset of the Getty Search Gateway (GSG) is a growing collection of images for public use. The Open Content Program plans to share, freely and without restriction, as many of the Getty’s digital resources as possible.
- Bridgeman Art LibraryAn extensive database of images from over 8,000 collections and more than 29,000 artists. The Bridgeman Art Library provides a central source of fine art and historical images.
- Art Images for College Teaching (AICT)AICT is a collection of art images that are organized into the following time periods: Ancient, Medieval, Renaissance & Baroque, 18th-20th Century, and Non-Western. AICT is intended primarily to share images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, and to the public.
- Minnesota Digital LibraryBrowse all 60,073 items from 204 historical societies, libraries, archives, and cultural organizations across Minnesota.
- Univ. of Minnesota - Digital Content LibraryThe Digital Content Library (DCL) is an online repository of audio, video and image materials from many different collections across the University of Minnesota. Together, there are over 200,000 learning objects representing a variety of disciplines for use in teaching and learning. Sources include purchased and licensed content, original and unique research materials and donations, and copy photography. For WSU some images image resolution will vary.
- Smithsonian Open Access ImagesAccess to more than 5.1 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 21 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
Search Multiple Platforms for Open Access Images
These site provide access to images which you can reuse, with attribution, for educational purposes.
- Openverse
12 major repositories of Creative Commons (CC) searchable in one site. - Pixabay
Quality images, videos, and music. - Wikimedia Commons
Freely usable images, sound, and video files. Anyone can contribute to this collection.
- Creative Commons SearchFind content you can share, use, and remix. This search engine searches over multiple platforms for content with Creative Commons Licenses you can use with attribution with in the license.
