OpenRiver: A Digital Repository for Southeast Minnesota

October 2024 

Composite Materials Engineering Class Photographs Collection -  New Collection 
The Composite Materials Engineering (CME) Class Photographs Collection includes photographs taken by CME faculty since 1992 through the present. Each Class photograph includes the graduating students and lists employers or graduate schools upon graduation.

New issues of the Journal of Advancing Education Progress (JAEP) and Essays in Education (EIE).

September 2024

Winona State Football Games Film Reel Collection - Athletics -  New Collection 
The WSU Football Games Film Reel Collections  - are available through OpenRiver's native streaming player. We gathered basic descriptive game information from the film reel canisters. There are many games for which we do not have descriptive information. Please contact refdesk@winona.edu, klarson@winona.edu, and aquam@winona.edu if you have information about individual games in this or other collections.

Collection work in progress Spirit of Winona and the Heartland - A Joyce Woodworth & HBC Show. For more information see newspaper articles in the Winona Daily News and the Winona Post newspapers, summer 2024.

June 2024

Irotas -  New Collection 
Irotas is a sibling literary journal to Satori, the WSU English Department’s literary journal since 1970. Irotas, begun in 2024, is the annual e-book comprised of literature and art that could not be housed in the print edition of Satori, but is worthy of publication.  Irotas seeks to capture the diversity in writing, aesthetics, identity, and viewpoints of Winona State undergraduate and graduate student authors. Irotas is edited and designed by the staff members of Satori.

Satori 2024 - The annual issue of the Satori WSU's student literary magazine is now available online and in print (personal copies via the library 1st floor book displays, and permanent copies via Archives & Special Collections)

Strategic Communication Master of Arts Thesis Project collection - New Collection
WSU's Mass Communication Department offers a Master of Arts in Strategic Communication. The first thesis projects are available for 2024.

May 2024 

HIV/AIDS Oral History Project - 1 Recording added; In coordination with Dr. Mary Jo Klinker a 2024 student interview was added to this oral history collection.

Art+ Design Senior Shows Collection - New Collection
These 2 collections were in partnership with the Art + Design Department and the Arts Administration AAD301 students (Spring 2024). WSU AAD 301 students (spring 2024) created descriptions for each of the Art Senior Shows Collection along with learning about digital collections, technologies, and their importance for arts organizations.

Music Department Collections - New Collections
These 2 collections were in partnership with the Music Department and the Arts Administration AAD301 students (Spring 2024). WSU AAD 301 students (spring 2024) created descriptions for each of the Music Collection programs along with learning about digital collections, technologies, and their importance for arts organizations.

Music Programs collection - New Collection

Music Posters collection - New Collection

Adult and Continuing Education Reports - New Collection

April 2024

Research & Creative Achievement Day - Event Collections

• 2024 Research & Creative Achievement Day was held on April 18, 2024. This event site provide a  schedule and documents student research and creative achievement, through poster presentations, recorded presentations, oral presentations. WSU faculty also share their research on this day and events occur across campus to celebrate the achievements of our students.

Leadership Education Newsletters Collection - Updating and compiling the Leadership Education - Graduate Studies Course Embedded Student Newsletters

March 2024 

In partnership with the WSU Library Archives & Special Collections and the WSU Student Senate we are able to make WSU Student Senate meeting minutes, passed motions, and organization documents available.  This provides a glimpse into the history and work of our Student Senate.

Student Senate Collections -  New Collections Landing page for Student Senate collections

• Student Senate Minutes  - 2020- present
• Student Senate Passed Motions - 2017-2023
• Student Senate Organizational Documents  - Updated in 2022
• Agendas (pre-2020) and older materials- coordinating file transfer with Student Senate

February 2024

Max Weber Collection - New Collection - limited descriptive information (will be updated when content is available)

Winona State University's Max Weber Art Collection is composed of artwork, including oil paintings and sculpture, and the tools of the American artist Max Weber (1881-1961). WSU Alumnus Maynard "Mo" Weber, and son of Max Weber, attended Winona State University and coached baseball. He was an avid supporter of WSU and chose to donate selections of his father's art to WSU. The collection is currently not available for viewing in person.

Feminist & Queer Praxis Collection

New expansion of the collection which includes  student writing  in the form of WSU blog posts and Winonan Student Newspaper articles. This collection is a partnership with the Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies Department.

January 2024

Education Doctorate 2022 Residency Book: Graduate Student Writing Project

The newest Education Doctorate Program Residency book, From Program to Practice: Purpose, Empowerment, and Persistence in Doctoral Education is available in ebook format. 

WSU Blog Collection -  New Collection

The WSU Blog Collection includes articles and blog entries from Winona State University (WSU) official blogs coordinated by WSU's Marketing & Communications Department. The WSU Blogs collection includes news blogs, academic and informational, which provide a glimpse into WSU's daily life across campus and history. These blogs are preserved and searchable in a PDF format. An archived snapshot of the 2023 WSU website including WSU blogs is available.
There are three blogs still in progress and will be posted when available.

November 2023 

Tretter Project: Queer History zine by Laura Migliorino, with permissions from the publisher and artist. Migliorino's photography exhibit is on display in the Krueger Library October 2023-December 2023, 1st floor, informal art display space.

Access to the current issue of The Winonan, WSU's student newspaper. 

Research & Creative Achievement (RCA) Day 2024 (and Fall 2023) - Preserving and showcasing student research and creative achievement at WSU. We are exploring capturing student research and creative achievement throughout the year. We hope to showcase it at the WSU RCA Day in April of 2024.

October 2023 

Famine Foods Co-op Oral History Project - Metadata uploaded and video files are linked to Media Space videos. A project done in collaboration with WSU TLT, Adam Zanzig, and project creator and interviewer Michael Doyle.

September 2023 

Counselor Education Graduate Studies - New Syllabi uploaded to the Counselor Education Syllabi Collection

August 2023

Completed - Newly digitized Wenonah Yearbooks and Free Winona Newspapers is complete. Take a Look!

Journal of Advancing Education Practice - Summer 2023 issue is available. 

Summer 2023 

Digitization project in progress for Wenonah Yearbooks and Free Winona Newspapers

June 2023 

Great River Reading Series Spring 2023 are available.

May 2023

2023 Satori is available.

April 2023

Research & Creative Achievement Day & Ramaley Celebration 2023 
Learn about the 2023 Day and Celebration - A schedule for the live poster sessions and recorded research presentations are on demand.

Early-Years Research Presentations 2023

March 2023

Dancescape 2023 

February 2023

Film Studies Student Projects Collection

The Film Studies Student Projects Collections presents student work for Dr. Danielle Schwartz's Film Studies course which is part of the Film Studies Program in the Winona State University (WSU) English Department.  These projects allow students to showcase their growing creative and technical skills and demonstrate their well-rounded knowledge and understanding of the medium of film and its history. The Film Studies Program is part of the WSU English Department.

CLASP - Lecture Series - Spring 2023 Events

CLASP presentations are aimed at a general audience of students, faculty and the community and are an exciting opportunity for faculty at any stage of their academic career to engage with the WSU community and share their scholarship. The series welcomes individual or panel presentations from any field of study and provides an inclusive platform for scholarship that has already been completed or remains in-progress.

January 2023

Great River Reading Series - New Presentation - Jean Prokott

December 2022

The Living History Oral History Project presents the next installment of 4 video of retired WSU personnel. Learn about Amy Welsh, Dr. Carol Jefferson, Dr. Nancy Olga Jannik, and Dr. Peter Henderson.

October 2022

Dancescape Promotional Poster Collection

In partnership with the Theatre & Dance Department, Dance faculty - Gretchen Cohenour and Erin Drummond, and the Library, the Dancescape Poster Collection is now available in OpenRiver. Twenty plus years of Dancescape promotional posters showcase the graphic design and the amazing creative work of our Theatre & Dance Department faculty and students from across the university. Dancescape performances can be viewed at the Winona State website (Marcomm maintained) and the videos are linked in OpenRiver.

August 2022

CLASP Lecture Series site

 CLASP is the Consortium of Liberal Arts and Science Promotion lecture series initiated in 2004. It is intended to promote interdisciplinary discussion and exchange.

CLASP presentations are aimed at a general audience of students, faculty and the community and are an exciting opportunity for faculty at any stage of their academic career to engage with the WSU community and share their scholarship. The series welcomes individual or panel presentations from any field of study and provides an inclusive platform for scholarship that has already been completed or remains in-progress.

June 2022

Early Year Research & Creative Mentoring Collection

Communication Project - Reviewing options department level communication of approvals for theses, dissertation, and capstone collections.  IT Project, Graduate Studies, and related departments.

Oral History  Collaboration -  Famine Foods History, Winona Community Project - Summer project

April 2022

Ramaley Research Celebration, Community Creative Achievement (Rochester), Early Year Research & Creative Mentoring, and Research Day

Women's Gender, and Sexuality Studies - a first collection  of student writing - Feminist and Queer Praxis

February 2022

Film Reel digitization for WSU Football - a work in progress

January 2022

Counselor Education Syllabi Collection - Syllabi are available from 2002-spring 2022. Some years do not have all syllabi. The syllabi were provided by the Counselor Education Department.

December 2021

Living History Project - the latest 4 videos are now available.

Counselor Education Syllabi Collection - Syllabi available 2016-2021, Work in progress for older syllabi.

November 2021

Great River Reading Series Fall 2021 Lecture by Michael Kleber-Diggs.

Counselor Education Syllabi Collection - In production fall 2021

June 2021

Student Life & Development (SLD) Annual Reports

The Student Life & Development Annual Reports is now online. In partnership with Vice President Denise McDowell and SLD the most recent 5 annual reports are available for viewing.  Other past annual reports may be uploaded to the collection.

Education Studies Masters Papers - Graduate Studies Rochester

The collection is accepting department approved student submissions Summer 2021.

Special Education Professional Papers

The collection is accepting approved department student submissions Summer 2021.  Summer 2020 submissions may also be uploaded.

Winona State University Theme Event Series

In partnership with the 2021 Theme team Katie Subra and Susan Pham and the WSU MarComm unit OpenRiver will preserve the WSU University themes information and some content for each year. In progress: Information from past university themes will be added to the Event series.

May 2021

Great River Reading Series - https://openriver.winona.edu/greatriverreadingseries/ay2021/

The Winona State University English Department's Great River Reading Series (GRRS) spring 2021 is now online. "The John S. Lucas Great River Reading Series brings poets, fiction writers and non-fiction writers to WSU each year. The writers visit creative writing and literature classes, meet with students, and give a public reading." - WSU English Department

The GRRS spring 2021 series starts by showcasing Delta Eddy, who is retiring from WSU this spring. She will continue to be with us in digital form reading her poetry. Then listen to Jennifer (Jennie) Case, one of WSU’s Alum who is a wonderful example of what WSU English majors become. Finish this year’s series with Kimberly Blaeser, who is from UW-Milwaukee and the Institution of American Indian Arts. She reads from her book of poems, Copper Yearning, as well as some of her new work.