Research Hub: NURS 600: Scientific and Ethical Foundations: Research Databases

Chat with Amanda

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health. Virtually all English-language publications are indexed along with the publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Some full text.
Nursing Collection@OVID This link opens in a new window
Full text of 48 core nursing journals (1995-).
Access limited to 17 simultaneous users among 15 schools.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly health resources, many with full text.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The strongest database in medicine. Also strong in biology, chemistry, and neuroscience.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Access is limited to three users at a time.

Trip Medical Database
The Trip database is a metasearch of medical research. You can filter by research type, including systematic reviews and randomized control trials.
more...less...
The Trip database is often used to verify that a review is comprehensive.
Oxford Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine
The Oxford Centre of Evidence-Based Medicine produces systematic reviews and other synthesized studies of data and research.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Notes: After logging in with your StarID, you will be prompted to create a separate, free account with UpTo Date.
Users must log-in from on- campus at least once every 90 days to verify their continued affiliation with the university.
More info: https://www.wolterskluwer.com/en/solutions/uptodate/resources/maintaining-access
Concise topic reviews that include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations for patient care. Over 10,500 topics in 22 specialties.

Registered Nurses Association of Ontario (Canada)
Find best practice and clinical guidelines for nursing and public health.
Evidence-based Practice Centers (AHRQ)
Evidence-based Practice Centers is a program of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. Find research synthesis reports from the United States and Canada.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (United Kingdom)

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles, mostly in the sciences, though some social sciences. Citations from 1980. Some full text starting in 1993, more full text from 1997.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
More than 25,000 searchable full text articles from 42 journals published by the APA and allied organizations from 1988, with earlier years in production.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Articles are detailed reviews of a particular topic, often discussing hundreds of recent studies. Most of our access is in biology, chemistry, medicine, and engineering.
Taylor & Francis Journals This link opens in a new window
Search all Taylor and Francis Journals, with citations and abstracts. Full text is occasionally available.

*Tip: DOIs start with 10.### Omit any HTTP or HTTPS. See this FAQ for details.

Articles, books, or other materials can be requested from other libraries via Resource Sharing (ILL).

Use Find It to search by title, DOI, or PMID.

For items not appearing in a search, use the blank Resource Sharing form.