Librarian
Chat with Amanda
Nursing: Primary Research Focused
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health. Virtually all English-language publications are indexed along with the publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Some full text.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
The strongest database in medicine. Also strong in biology, chemistry, and neuroscience.
- Nursing Collection@OVID This link opens in a new window
Full text of 48 core nursing journals (1995-).
- Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowMore than 250 leading full text journals in nursing and allied health.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly health resources, many with full text.
Nursing: Filtered Research Focused
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
- Trip Medical DatabaseThe Trip database is a metasearch of medical research. You can filter by research type, including systematic reviews and randomized control trials.
- Oxford Centre for Evidence-Based MedicineThe Oxford Centre of Evidence-Based Medicine produces systematic reviews and other synthesized studies of data and research.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Concise topic reviews that include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations for patient care. Over 10,500 topics in 22 specialties.
Research Institutions (government & academic)
- National Institute of Nursing ResearchFormerly the National Center of Nursing Research. A division of the National Institutes of Health.
- National League of Nursing"Dedicated to excellence in nursing, the National League for Nursing as the nation's first nursing association serves as the leading voice for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education. The NLN offers professional development, networking opportunities, assessment services, nursing research grants, and public policy advocacy for nearly 45,000 individual and over 1,000 institutional members. NLN members represent nursing education programs across the spectrum of higher education, health care organizations, and agencies."
Translation Literature (Practice Guidelines, Critical Pathways, etc)
Clinical Practice Guidelines and other translation literature can also be found in PubMed and CINAHL. These sites focus on Guidelines.
STEM Databases
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles, mostly in the sciences, though some social sciences. Citations from 1980. Some full text starting in 1993, more full text from 1997.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowArticles are detailed reviews of a particular topic, often discussing hundreds of recent studies. Most of our access is in biology, chemistry, medicine, and engineering.
- Taylor & Francis Journals This link opens in a new windowSearch all Taylor and Francis Journals, with citations and abstracts. Full text is occasionally available.
Allied Health Research
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
More than 25,000 searchable full text articles from 42 journals published by the APA and allied organizations from 1988, with earlier years in production.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
International literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
- Alt Health Watch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Some full text. - Encyclopedia of Social Work (Oxford) This link opens in a new windowA continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP). Over 800 articles and 200 biographies.
- Sports Medicine & Education Index (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Coverage from 1970. No full text.
Featured Journals
DOI / PMID Search
Resource Sharing (Interlibrary Loan)
Articles, books, or other materials can be requested from other libraries via Resource Sharing (ILL).
Use Find It to search by title, DOI, or PMID.
For items not appearing in a search, use the blank Resource Sharing form.
