Research Hub: Evidence Based Practice Toolkit: Find Research

Core Nursing library databases

Use these databases to find the best articles from Nursing journals.

In many library databases you can can limit your search to just practice guidelines - look for a limiter called "guidelines" or "practice guidelines," often found under "Publication Types." You often can also limit to a certain publication type, such as a clinical trial or randomized control trial.

Some databases provide article citations, but not full text. The Find It! button will link to full text across databases. If full text is not available, request it via Interlibrary Loan.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to three users at a time.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
New CINAHL interface available! The contents of the database are not changing, however, it is getting a very different look.
Try it now: CINAHL Ultimate new interface.
PubMed This link opens in a new window

PubMed Clinical Queries

Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Nursing Collection@OVID This link opens in a new window
Access limited to 17 simultaneous users among 15 schools.

National Guideline Clearinghouse

EBP Metasearch

PROSPERO
A database of systematic review protocols, that is, reviews currently being undertaken. Researchers are encouraged to register their review in PROSPERO when they start, and to record their progress. Publish your own protocol or search the database to see what research is being conducted on a topic.
Trip Medical Database
The Trip database is a metasearch of medical research. You can filter by research type, including systematic reviews and randomized control trials.
more...less...
The Trip database is often used to verify that a review is comprehensive.

Find Synthesized Research (Systematic Reviews, Meta-analysis)

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Access is limited to three users at a time.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed has limiters for systematic reviews, randomized control trials and meta-analyses.

Oxford Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine
The Oxford Centre of Evidence-Based Medicine produces systematic reviews and other synthesized studies of data and research.
PEDro
An open database of over 57,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions.

Find Clinical Trials

Trip Medical Database
The Trip database is a metasearch of medical research. You can filter by research type, including systematic reviews and randomized control trials.
more...less...
The Trip database is often used to verify that a review is comprehensive.
Clinical Trials Registry (NIH)
ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
more...less...
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry of trials, rather than a database of peer-reviewed reports. Trials are registered and updated by the research team. Registering and updating the results of the trials can reduce publication bias and help researchers identify trials before a peer reviewed publication is produced. However, the trials may not have undergone an independent vetting process.
International Clinical Trial Registry (World Health Organization)

Evidence Based Practice Toolkit

Core Nursing library databases

EBP Metasearch

Find Synthesized Research (Systematic Reviews, Meta-analysis)

Find Clinical Trials

Give

Learn

Connect

Follow