Databases
You can find a particular newspaper or magazine by searching for the publication title. Look for publication toward the top of the page. If you can't find what you're looking for, ask a librarian!
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Broad database with both academic and general articles. Many are full text, but some are citation only.
- Flipster This link opens in a new window
A collection of digital magazines, including The Atlantic, Time, Diverse: Issues in Higher Education, Bloomberg Businessweek, The New Yorker, Rolling Stone, Newsweek, Columbia Journalism Review, Ebony, Forbes, the National Review, and more.
Flipster is available through WSU Apps. You need to use a web browser to download issues into the app to read them. Additional information is available in our Flipster Guide. - U.S. Newsstream (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowContent and archives (1980s-) from national and regional news sources including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, Chicago Tribune, and Minneapolis Star Tribune.
The Krueger Library has access to millions of newspaper and magazine articles through a variety of databases and institutional subscriptions. Institutional subscriptions require you to authenticate your affiliation with WSU in order to access the paper's website. Once you authenticate, you can sign in with the credentials you created on the web or app.
The Library provides access to a large collection of electronic magazines through Flipster. Click on the carousel below or find the link to Flipster in our list of databases.
Institutional Subscriptions
- New York Times (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times is a daily newspaper based in New York City. Covers domestic, national, and international news, and publishes opinion pieces, investigative reports, and reviews.
Historical articles can be accessed via nyt.com, but you can only view five articles published between 1923-1980 per day. If you need access to more than five historical articles, use the Krueger Library's New York Times Historical database.
Access Issues? See this FAQ: NYT Troubleshooting
- Wall Street Journal (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new window
Unlimited access to WSJ.com and the WSJ App.
You will need to create a separate account. See details: Wall Street Journal Access
- Chronicle of Higher Education (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new windowThe top news source for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students. To set up your Chronicle account:
1. Click on the link above.
2. Click on "Sign In" in the top right and create an account using your StarID@winona.edu or StarID@go.winona.edu email as a login. Search for "Winona State University" as your institution.
3. If you are using a tablet or mobile device, the Chronicle is available on an app.
4. Having trouble? Email us!
Ask a Librarian
Flipster Support
- Flipster Quickstart Guide (from EBSCO)This guide offers links to helpful resources for using Flipster on desktop computers and mobile devices.
- How do I read magazines on Flipster?Krueger Library Guide
