Reference Collection
A reference book is a specialized resource (encyclopedia, dictionary, handbook, atlas, guidebook, etc.) that will help you narrow your topic and identify additional books and articles related to your topic.
The library owns a number of sources in our Reference Collection (1st Floor) about Shakespeare. This following link will take you to a list titles in our Reference Collection: Reference Books about Shakespeare. You can also search in the library catalog (linked below) for Shakespeare as a Subject and then refine your search to the Reference Collection.
Reference Databases & Other E-Books
The library subscribes to a number of Reference Databases and individual Reference Books that may contain relevant and related information to your research on Shakespeare.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowFull text resource for a diverse range of subjects. Types of sources include general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new windowAccess to standard and academic reference sources on a wide range of topics, including business, law, literature, medicine, technology, and more.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of British LiteraturePart of the Oxford Digital Reference Shelf. The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature includes over 500 entries covering the history of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. It also includes information on individual authors and information on themes, movements, genres, and institutions.
- Oxford Dictionary of the RenaissanceThis dictionary provides detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.
