ENG: Shakespeare

Core Literature Library Databases

Although this section is labeled "Find Articles", you will often find citations for books, chapters of book, dissertations, and other non-articles using one of the below databases. 

Some of the following databases provide citations only and not the full text. The Find It! button will link to full text across databases. If the WSU Library does not have access to the full text of the article and if you have time (more than a few days), you are encouraged to request the source via Interlibrary Loan.

For research on the scholarship of Shakespeare and/or his works, I encourage you to begin your search with World Shakespeare Bibliography. The only downside of WSB is that the Find It! cannot be included in this database, which means when you have located a source that you think has potential, you will need to conduct a citation search. If the source is from a book (or the entire book), conduct a title search for the book in WorldCat (a WSU Database). If the source is an article, then follow the instructions on the ARTICLE CITATION SEARCH page (the next page). 

Guidelines for Identifying Types of Articles

Article databases index both popular, professional/trade, and scholarly journals (or peer reviewed).
Peer reviewed or refereed articles refers to the process in which article are reviewed by professionals in a field of study before being published. A journals website should explain the publishing process and if it is peer reviewed or not. Many time professors use the term peer reviewed and scholarly articles synonymously.

 

CRITERIA SCHOLARLY POPULAR PROFESSIONAL/TRADE
AUTHOR Researcher, scholar, or specialist with expertise in the subject; author's credentials are provided Journalist or staff writer; paid to write articles; may or may not be an expert in the subject Usually practitioners and professionals in the field (has subject expertise)
AUDIENCE Experts, scholars, researchers, professors and students in the field General public       Professionals in the field; may appeal to the general public
PURPOSE In-depth report of original research/findings written by the researcher; communicate scholarship Current events and general interest stories; may report about other's research; to entertain and inform Report current news, trends, and products about a specific industry; share practical information for professionals in the field
TONE Scholarly or technical jargon or terminology Accessible and readily understood by a larger audience. Professional jargon or terminology
REFERENCES Sources are cited in a bibliography, references, endnotes, or footnotes Rare Few, if any, sources cited
REVIEW Refereed or reviewed by scholars in the field Editor Editor
LENGTH Usually 5+ pages; often includes an abstract, goals and objectives, methodology, results, discussion, and conclusion Usually short, a few pages Usually short, a few pages
ADVERTISING Little to none; occasional ads for professional organizations or publications Numerous ads for a variety of products and services Many ads for products, services, and organizations related to the profession or trade
FREQUENCY Issues published quarterly, semi-annually, or annually Issues published weekly or monthly Issues published weekly or monthly
EXAMPLES Journal of Robotics Journal of Romance Studies Journal of Roman Studies Business Week Rolling Stone Time American Libraries Chronicle of Higher Education Publishers' Weekly
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION A book review or editorial published in a scholarly journal does not fit the criteria for a scholarly article.