1. LOCATE and READ
Castagno, A.E. (2009). Making sense of multicultural education: A synthesis of the various typologies found in the literature. Multicultural Perspectives, 11(1),43-48. [login with your StarID to access, also in D2L].
2. CREATE your digital presentation
Check your syllabus for the questions you need to address in your visual presentation assignment. For your presentation you will need to identify typologies of multicultural education theory, prominent scholars, locate visual aids.
3. LOCATE a peer reviewed article
The article should discuss critical multicultural education or critical multiculturalism. The article(s) will be used for additional assignments.
Step 1: Select a database(s) or other resources to search. See the Find Articles page for a list of databases.
Top databases in which to start your search are (each database title is found on each page linked below):
See other databases listed on the Find Articles page.
Step 2: Develop keywords to search. See the examples listed in the Keywords box below. Need more help? See the Search Strategies page or contact a librarian. Start with a basic search. Add addition keywords related to interest or focus of study or find keywords within the first list of articles you find.
To find an exact phrase, use double quotes, such as "critical multiculturalism" or "multicultural education". Using quotes will find your keywords in this exact word order positioned next to each other.
Limiters date and subject headers:
Each database has features to narrow your search, by date of publication, type of publication (Scholarly, trade, popular periodicals), by subject categories. After your initial search look for the side vertical navigation.
Step 3: Once you have found an article or two, check the journal title to make sure it is a scholarly/peer-reviews source and the review the article to make sure it is a research article. Some databases will provide information within each article as to the Journal and basic information (scholarly, trade, popular, newspapers etc.). You may need to check the journal's home page to verify its purpose.
Step 4: Choose how you will save your progress. Where will you keep your citations?
Beyond Youtube, you can search for videos through these sources below:
Find videos on Youtube. Here some ways to limit and expand your searches?
As you saw on the Search Strategies page, many databases allow you to use Boolean Operators to customize searches. Youtube allows operators that are a little different.
For example -- "multicultural education" + critical
For example -- "multicultural education" - "cultural competence"
In each database there is a way to refine and narrow your results. Consider filtering by date of publication, subject terms, type of publication and more.
Refine Results in EBSCO databases
Refine Results in Proquest databases