Industry Info in Databases
industry Size
Finding the size of an industry, particulary a subindustry, can be difficult. You will find some industry reports in Business Source Premier. You may need to search other databases below for journal or newspaper articles that discuss your industry or sub industry.
When searching, in addition to the industry name include the term billion or million. Often newspapers will report industry information from expensive reports they have accessed.
- Business Source Premier - Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Business Searching Interface features Company and Industry Profiles and Country and Market Research Reports. You can also browse by publication types including SWOT analyses, trade publications and magazines.
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, etc. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. Business Source Premier contains PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDF's are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color. - Business Source Premier - Standard Interface This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, etc.
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Features industry surveys, data on private and public U.S companies, international businesses, and consumers, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and more.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for regional business publications, including titles from Crain Communications. Updated daily.
Industry Info in Reference Collection
- Standard & Poor's industry surveysCall Number: Reference HC106.6 .S74ISBN: 0196-4666This title was discontinued in favor of Mergent Online, but we do have the January 2017 edition.
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Features industry surveys, data on private and public U.S companies, international businesses, and consumers, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and more.
Industry Classification Systems
- NAICSThe North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
