Librarian
Pharmacology
- Royal Society of Medicine: MedicinesA vital companion for all users of medicine, whether parents buying for babies and children, anyone wanting more information on a doctor's prescription, or those who need to find a remedy for occasional ailments. Contains up-to-date descriptions of prescription and over-the-counter drugs.
- WebMD Drug GuideFind basic information about prescription medications,
DSM-5
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor RC455.2.C4 D54 2013ISBN: 9780890425541Publication Date: 2013-05-22
Scanning Services
Scanned portions of books can be requested. See FAQ for details. 
- From the item record page, select Scan
- In the Resource Sharing Request form, select "I only need a specific chapter/pages."
- Enter a page number(s) or add the entry name (condition) in the Comments section.
DSM at Goddard Library (RCTC Library)
Goodard Library at RCTC has a copy of the DSM-5 in the Reference Collection. It can be used in the library.
Psychology Reference
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Psychology This link opens in a new windowSubstantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Psychology combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
International literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Contains full text information about and reviews of over 2,000 commercially available English-language tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Actual tests are not available through ILL/Resource Sharing.
Drug Guides
Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2023 by
Ensure safe and effective drug therapy with this easy-to-use handbook! Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2023 provides you with current, detailed information on more than 1,000 generic and 4,000 trade name drugs. This handy, user-friendly guide includes updated uses, dosage forms, warnings, side effects and adverse reactions, IV drug administration, nursing considerations, and much more. Organized alphabetically by generic drug name for quick reference, this book stands out from the others in guiding the nurse through the steps essential to quality patient care. New drug monographs cover 25 new FDA-approved medications! More than 1,000 generic name drugs, encompassing over 4,000 trade name drugs, are organized alphabetically with A-to-Z tabs for quick and easy access. UNIQUE! Herbal information is included in the appendix and on the Evolve website, covering the interactions and effects of commonly encountered herbs. Detailed information for each drug includes side effects listed by frequency, and adverse effects and reactions requiring prompt intervention. Drugs by Disorder are listed in the front of the book for easy reference, showing common disorders and the drugs most often used for treatment. Drug Classifications section features an overview of actions and uses for drug families. Black Box Alerts and High Alert drugs are highlighted to promote safe administration of drugs that pose the greatest risk for patient harm, and Do Not Confuse With warnings call out drug names that sound alike or look alike. Top 100 Drugs list identifies the most frequently administered drugs. Cross-references to the 400 top U.S. brand-name drugs are located throughout the book for easy access. List of newly approved medications in the front of the book makes it easy to locate the latest drugs. Nursing considerations are organized in a functional nursing process framework and include baseline assessment, intervention/evaluation, and patient/family teaching. Information on lifespan and disorder-related dosage variations covers special considerations for pediatric, geriatric, hepatic, and immune- or renal-compromised patients. Extensive IV content includes IV compatibilities/IV incompatibilities and breaks down key information on reconstitution, rate of administration, and storage. IV Compatibility Chart foldout includes comprehensive compatibility information for 65 intravenous drugs. Fixed combinations are included in dosages of each combined drug directly within the individual monographs, to help students understand different drug dose options for specific diseases. Customizable and printable monographs for 100 of the most commonly used drugs are located on Evolve, along with quarterly drug updates. More than 1,000 generic name drugs, encompassing over 4,000 trade name drugs, are organized alphabetically with A-to-Z tabs for quick and easy access. UNIQUE! Herbal information is included in the appendix and on the Evolve website, covering the interactions and effects of commonly encountered herbs. Detailed information for each drug includes side effects listed by frequency, and adverse effects and reactions requiring prompt intervention. Drugs by Disorder are listed in the front of the book for easy reference, showing common disorders and the drugs most often used for treatment. Drug Classifications section features an overview of actions and uses for drug families. Black Box Alerts and High Alert drugs are highlighted to promote safe administration of drugs that pose the greatest risk for patient harm, and Do Not Confuse With warnings call out drug names that sound alike or look alike. Top 100 Drugs list identifies the most frequently administered drugs. Cross-references to the 400 top U.S. brand-name drugs are located throughout the book for easy access. List of newly approved medications in the front of the book makes it easy to locate the latest drugs. Nursing considerations are organized in a functional nursing process framework and include baseline assessment, intervention/evaluation, and patient/family teaching. Information on lifespan and disorder-related dosage variations covers special considerations for pediatric, geriatric, hepatic, and immune- or renal-compromised patients. Extensive IV content includes IV compatibilities/IV incompatibilities and breaks down key information on reconstitution, rate of administration, and storage. IV Compatibility Chart foldout includes comprehensive compatibility information for 65 intravenous drugs. Fixed combinations are included in dosages of each combined drug directly within the individual monographs, to help students understand different drug dose options for specific diseases. Customizable and printable monographs for 100 of the most commonly used drugs are located on Evolve, along with quarterly drug updates.
Call Number: Reference Collection - 1st Floor ; RM125 .H572 2022ISBN: 9780323930765Publication Date: 2022-05-03
Assessments and Measurements
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Contains full text information about and reviews of over 2,000 commercially available English-language tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Actual tests are not available through ILL/Resource Sharing.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
International literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Health Reference
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780028666587Publication Date: 2020-04-03""Features information on over 2,050 medical topics, including diseases/disorders and tests/treatments, in language accessible to adult laypersons"-Provided by publisher"--The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780028666716Publication Date: 2020"Focuses on health crises affecting the public at large, ranging from epidemic and pandemic diseases; chronic conditions such as famine, malnutrition, cancer, and diabetes; and social issues such as sexual abuse, obesity, bullying, and new substance abuse issues. Entries describe the origin and spread of the issue, public and government reaction and response, and treatments and preventive measures"--Provided by publisher.Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781410363138Publication Date: 2018In the updated fourth edition of this award-winning title, more than 1, 230 alphabetically arranged entries, of which about 100 are new, cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. The Encyclopedia covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.
- Gale Reference: MedicineA collection of reference eBooks, including prescription drug guides, nutrition information, and basic information on health issues and conditions.
- Credo Reference: Health and MedicineBasic reference for health topics including overviews of conditions.
Consumer Health Databases
- Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.
- Alt Health Watch This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Some full text.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Consumer health information in the following areas: medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. Full text.
