Research Hub: Psychology: Databases and Guides

Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Phone: 507-457-5152

Office: 122A Krueger Library
jjackson@winona.edu

Subjects: Communication Studies, Counselor Education, Criminal Justice, Geosciences, Global Studies and World Languages, Library and Information Science, Psychology, Sociology, Theatre and Dance

Core Psychology library databases

These databases have the highest concentation of articles from Psychology journals.

Some databases provide article citations, but not full text. The Find It! button will link to full text across databases. If full text is not available, request it via Interlibrary Loan.

PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
International literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
More than 25,000 searchable full text articles from 42 journals published by the APA and allied organizations from 1988, with earlier years in production.

Annual Review of Psychology
Review articles in the field of psychology. WSU has access to the full text of the articles from 1996 to the present.

Other useful databases

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles, mostly in the sciences, though some social sciences. Citations from 1980. Some full text starting in 1993, more full text from 1997.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Most comprehensive index of medical research in the world. Many articles are available through open access.
Look for for links to our holdings or to request via interlibrary loan/Resource Sharing.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Via EBSCO. The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 317,000 full text documents dating back to 1966.
Many ERIC documents have been removed from the ERIC.ED.GOV website temporarily. If the ED number of the document is less than ED441946 (published before ca. 2001), then Krueger Library might have it in the microform area.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Broad database with both academic and general articles. Many are full text, but some are citation only.