Librarian
Core Mass Communication library databases
Use these databases to find the best articles from Mass Communication journals.
Some databases provide article citations, but not full text. The Find It! button will link to full text across databases. If full text is not available, request it via Interlibrary Loan.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
The major database for mass communications, communication studies, marketing, and related fields. Combined coverage of over 770 titles. Some full text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering the social sciences, humanities, and arts. Some journal issues extend back to the 19th century. Full text.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Broad database with both academic and general articles. Many are full text, but some are citation only.
- Business Source Premier - Standard Interface This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, etc.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth, non-biased coverage of the most important and controversial issues of the day, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Covers U.S. and Canadian history. Also strong in the social sciences and humanities. Access over 1,700 journals published worldwide, including state historical society journals. Citations for books, media, and dissertations as well. Coverage from 1954.
Newspaper Databases
The WSU Library provides access to an array of newspaper databases. These are essential for mass communication research and newsgathering.
- Winona Newspaper Database This link opens in a new window
Open access to Winona-area newspapers from the mid-1800s-1976. Presented by Krueger Library with the support of the Minnesota Historical Society and the cooperation of the Winona County Historical Society.
- New York Times Historical (1851 - 2019) This link opens in a new window
Full text and full image articles from the New York Times (1851-2021)
Other Related Databases
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
International literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowInternational literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Some open access full text. Coverage from 1952.
Law & Legal Resources
- WestlawNext This link opens in a new windowFull text of court opinions, statutes, and regulations from state and federal governments. In excess of 800 law reviews and journals. Access to a legal encyclopedia, American Jurisprudence, and Black's Law Dictionary. Includes West's KeyCite feature for verification of the status of a case, statute, administrative decision, or regulation. Laws, regulations, reports, and related European Union material is also included. Wondering how to access an article? Check out the FAQ!
Course Guides
Can't find it? We can get it!
The Citation Linker / Find It searches across databases. If the resource is not in our holdings, a Resource Sharing Request will appear.
