Research Hub: Mass Communication: Find Articles

Librarian

Allison Quam

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Krueger Library 130A
aquam@winona.edu

507-457-2644

Subjects: Arts Administration, English, Film Studies, Library and Information Science, Mass Communication, Music

WSU Periodical Finder

Find our if WSU has specific journals, magazines, or newspapers. Type in the Periodical title here (not article title).

WSU Periodical Finder

Core Mass Communication library databases

Use these databases to find the best articles from Mass Communication journals.

Some databases provide article citations, but not full text. The Find It! button will link to full text across databases. If full text is not available, request it via Interlibrary Loan.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
The major database for mass communications, communication studies, marketing, and related fields. Combined coverage of over 770 titles. Some full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering the social sciences, humanities, and arts. Some journal issues extend back to the 19th century. Full text.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Broad database with both academic and general articles. Many are full text, but some are citation only.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Broad database of over 2,100 business and trade journals. Some scholarly, others popular. Some full text, others citation only.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth, non-biased coverage of the most important and controversial issues of the day, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
Topic overviews for political, social, and cultural issues.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Covers U.S. and Canadian history. Also strong in the social sciences and humanities. Access over 1,700 journals published worldwide, including state historical society journals. Citations for books, media, and dissertations as well. Coverage from 1954.

READ: Select an Article Database (A step-by-step guide)

A database is a searchable electronic index of published articles and/or article citations. To locate articles, select one (or more) of the Krueger Library's databases that is appropriate for your topic.

Search for Databases by Subject

From the Library homepage, select Search > Databases A-Z
Filter by Subject to choose a database by a subject area. For example:
- Looking for articles on peer pressure and social media? Filter with the Psychology or Communication Studies databases.
- Looking for articles on caring for "prenatal care" and infants? Filter to Nursing and health related databases

Newspaper Databases

The WSU Library provides access to an array of newspaper databases. These are essential for mass communication research and newsgathering.

Winona Newspaper Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Open access to Winona-area newspapers from the mid-1800s-1976. Presented by Krueger Library with the support of the Minnesota Historical Society and the cooperation of the Winona County Historical Society.
New York Times Historical (1851 - 2019) This link opens in a new window
Full text and full image articles from the New York Times (1851-2019)