- Krueger Library
- Research Hub
- Course and Subject Guides
- HIST 398: Food in World History
- Find Reference Sources
HIST 398: Food in World History
Reference Sources
Reference sources summarize information so that you can check for basic facts, find background information, and consider overarching themes. Importantly, they can also give you a starting point from which you can find other primary and secondary resources!
This type of source includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, bibliographies, timelines (and more!)
Below are a few reference sources to start with. Need to find others?
- Food TimelineThe Food Timeline was created by a reference librarian, Lynne Oliver. Now, the site is curated and updated by Virginia Tech University.
- Culinary History: Bibliography by the New York Public LibraryHere the New York Public Library provides a list of modern and historical texts on food, including cookbooks. They are organized by food type, date, and/or type of resource.
- The Food Bibliography"The Food Bibliography is an on-line resource providing a growing data base of bibliographic materials for researchers in the field of food history and, more generally, food studies."
- The SifterDeveloped by historians and art historians, "the Sifter is a free website for searching and comparing authors, their works and the details of their works regarding food and related topics around the world and throughout history."
The Cambridge World History of Food by Call Number: Reference TX353 .C255 2000ISBN: 9781849722285Publication Date: 2007-10-26
The Oxford Handbook of Food HistoryCall Number: Reference TX353 .O94 2012Publication Date: Oxford University Press, c2012.
Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in AmericaCall Number: Reference TX349 .E45 2004Publication Date: Paper: Oxford UP, 2004. Online: 2013.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Food IssuesCall Number: Reference TX349 .S237 2015Publication Date: SAGE, 2015
Ethnic American Food TodayCall Number: Reference TX349 .E86 2015Publication Date: Rowman & Littlefield, 2015
American Food by the DecadesCall Number: Reference TX360.U6 A755 2011Publication Date: Greenwood, 2011
