Library Databases with Scholarly Secondary History Sources
Below you will find databases that point to scholarly articles in History. These are considered "secondary" sources. Secondary sources utilize primary sources (example: manuscripts, newspapers, speeches, diaries, artifacts) to perform an analysis, offer a critique, or discuss a topic.
Visit the Find Articles guide for instructions on finding and requesting articles.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Covers U.S. and Canadian history. Also strong in the social sciences and humanities. Access over 1,700 journals published worldwide, including state historical society journals. Citations for books, media, and dissertations as well. Coverage from 1954.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering the social sciences, humanities, and arts. Some journal issues extend back to the 19th century. Full text.
- WestlawNext This link opens in a new windowFull text of court opinions, statutes, and regulations from state and federal governments. In excess of 800 law reviews and journals. Access to a legal encyclopedia, American Jurisprudence, and Black's Law Dictionary. Includes West's KeyCite feature for verification of the status of a case, statute, administrative decision, or regulation. Laws, regulations, reports, and related European Union material is also included. Wondering how to access an article? Check out the FAQ!
Note, when using WestLawNext for historical research, narrow your search by changing the publication type to "Law Reviews and Journals."
Other Databases Worth Checking Out
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Broad database with both academic and general articles. Many are full text, but some are citation only.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowA robust full text searching tool to find scholarly articles, but sometimes the results are not actually full text without paying a fee. Click on "FindIt@WinonaState" listed on the right hand side to get access to full text articles that are available through Krueger Library.
If you click on >> in your search results and click "GetIt@WinonaState," you'll be taken to OneSearch where you can sign in to request the item through ILL/Resource Sharing.
