Primary Sources: Imprints and Digitized Historical Periodicals
- History Commons This link opens in a new window
Access content such as Godey's Lady's Book 1830-1885, The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective (November 1860-April 1865), which includes the Charleston Mercury, the New York Herald, and the Richmond Enquirer, and African American Newspapers (19th century).
- American Memory Project: Library of CongressA digital record of American history. Free access to written and spoken word, sound recordings, etc. from LC.
- American State PapersThis site contains the American State Papers in both a browsable and in a fulltext searchable form. The American State Papers are miscellaneous official documents from the time period of 1789 to 1838. They span both Congressional and Executive documents, dealing with both foreign affairs and domestic.
- APS: American Periodical Series This link opens in a new windowOver 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900. Includes special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and other historically-significant periodicals.
- Chronicling America This link opens in a new windowSearch different American newspapers from 1836-1922.
- Early American Imprints, Series 1: Evans, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new windowDigitization of nearly every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America over a 160-year period. Includes more than 36,000 printed works and 2.3 million pages.
- Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation This link opens in a new windowHundreds of historic newspapers (1690-1879) listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography and in additional subsequent bibliographies.
- Ethnic NewsWatch Historical This link opens in a new windowRare collection of over 30 full text titles marketed to specific ethnic groups (Black, Hispanic, Jewish, Armenian, etc.). 1959-1989.
- Making of America (U. Michigan) This link opens in a new windowA digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Strong in education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Over 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
- Minneapolis Star Tribune Historical This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The entire Minneapolis Star and Tribune (including various predecessors) from 1867-2001. - Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub This link opens in a new windowMany historical (1856-1924) newspapers digitized from localities in Minnesota. Search for keywords across all papers on the server at the same time. Does not include any Winona newspapers.
- National Security Archive This link opens in a new window38 collections, compiled by top scholars and experts, covering the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post-WWII through the 21st century. The organization's website at George Washington University has even more documents.
- New York Times Historical (1851 - 2019) This link opens in a new window
Full text and full image articles from the New York Times (1851-2019)
- Prints and Photographs Division, Library of CongressUnique in their scope and richness, the prints and photographs collections today number more than 13.7 million images.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive list of articles in the most popular general interest periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada. Some full text.
- Winona Newspaper Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Open access to Winona-area newspapers from the mid-1800s-1976. Presented by Krueger Library with the support of the Minnesota Historical Society and the cooperation of the Winona County Historical Society.
Publicly Accessible Federal Laws
- Public Laws: Congress.govCongress.gov is replacing the Thomas system from Library of Congress. It provides information on Public Laws and bills from 1973 to the present. However, the full texts of the laws are only available from 1993 (103rd Congress) to the present.
- Public Laws: Search govinfo.govGovinfo allows you to search for terms and phrases in the full text of Public Laws since 1995 (the 104th Congress).
- Public Laws: govinfo.gov Browse Public LawsThis interface allows you to view a Public Law if you know its Public Law number (ex. Pub. L. 105-12) for laws from 1995 (the 104th Congress) to the present. The text can be downloaded as an ASCII text (able to be used in word processors) or in PDF format (gives the look of the originally published pages). PDF requires the Adobe Acrobat Reader (available free on the Internet).
- U.S. Code: Cornell's Legal Information InstituteThis richly hyperlinked version allows keyword searching, browsing by title, and access via a hyperlinked popular name table. The version is the most recent version available to from the House of Representatives. The text is provided in HTML format with linked cross references. One can search for parallel authority references in the Code of Federal Regulations. The site uses frames.
- U.S. Code: Internet Law LibrarySearch this version of the U.S. Code by keyword, title and section, or by cross Reference. The text is provided in ASCII text format. Also at this site: classification tables (not hyperlinked) that translate Pub.L. sections to USC sections. The version is the most recent available (supplements are added, so that you only see the current codification).
- U.S. Code: govinfo.gov search by citationGPO Access allows you to search for terms and phrases in the full text of the U.S. Code. The 1994 version and the Annual Supplements are separate databases. To search by special features (such as by Public Law number), see its
- Constitution: Original TextThe basic text in HTML format. There are hyperlinks from the main text to any amendments that have altered the standing of the original article.
- Constitution: Annotated (long)The text of the constitution with annotations to court opinions that have articulated the legal meaning of the original text. The text can be searched by keyword or browsed by Table of Contents. There is an index and Table of Cases, but they are not hyperlinked for convenience. The text can be downloaded as an ASCII text or in PDF format.
