Request an Article: Resource Sharing
Core Education databases
Use these databases to find the best articles from Education Leadership journals.
Some databases provide article citations, but not full text. The Find It! button will link to full text across databases. If full text is not available, request it via Interlibrary Loan.
- Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
A research database for education students, professionals and policymakers. It includes full-text education journals that cover the essentials of education and related fields of study, including in-depth coverage of special education. Education journals from 1983. Full text from 1994.
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Via EBSCO. The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 317,000 full text documents dating back to 1966.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Broad database with both academic and general articles. Many are full text, but some are citation only.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
International literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: The Humanities and Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowMillions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world (1861-). Over a million full text dissertations are available for download in PDF format. More than 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles, mostly in the sciences, though some social sciences. Citations from 1980. Some full text starting in 1993, more full text from 1997.
- Sports Medicine & Education Index (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Coverage from 1970. No full text.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Education This link opens in a new windowA dynamic, peer-reviewed digital encyclopedia continuously updated by the world’s leading scholars and researchers (Oxford University Press)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering the social sciences, humanities, and arts. Some journal issues extend back to the 19th century. Full text.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Professional Development Collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. This is the most comprehensive and most valuable collection of full text education journals in the world. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Contains full text information about and reviews of over 2,000 commercially available English-language tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Actual tests are not available through ILL/Resource Sharing.
- WestlawNext This link opens in a new windowFull text of court opinions, statutes, and regulations from state and federal governments. In excess of 800 law reviews and journals. Access to a legal encyclopedia, American Jurisprudence, and Black's Law Dictionary. Includes West's KeyCite feature for verification of the status of a case, statute, administrative decision, or regulation. Laws, regulations, reports, and related European Union material is also included. Wondering how to access an article? Check out the FAQ!
Newspapers
- Chronicle of Higher Education (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new windowThe top news source for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students. To set up your Chronicle account:
1. Click on the link above.
2. Click on "Sign In" in the top right and create an account using your StarID@winona.edu or StarID@go.winona.edu email as a login. Search for "Winona State University" as your institution.
3. If you are using a tablet or mobile device, the Chronicle is available on an app.
4. Having trouble? Email us! - New York Times (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times is a daily newspaper based in New York City. Covers domestic, national, and international news, and publishes opinion pieces, investigative reports, and reviews.
Historical articles can be accessed via nyt.com, but you can only view five articles published between 1923-1980 per day. If you need access to more than five historical articles, use the Krueger Library's New York Times Historical database.
Access Issues? See this FAQ: NYT Troubleshooting
- Wall Street Journal (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new window
Unlimited access to WSJ.com and the WSJ App.
You will need to create a separate account. See details: Wall Street Journal Access
Flipster
- Flipster This link opens in a new windowA large collection of digital magazines, including Education Week, Diverse: Issues in Higher Education, The Atlantic, Time, Newsweek, The New Yorker, Rolling Stone, The Week, and more.
A flipster app is available through the WSU App Store. You need to use a web browser to download issues into the app to read them. Additional information is available in our Flipster Guide: http://libguides.winona.edu/
Find Articles (Step-by-Step Guide)
This "How do I..." guide will instruct you on how to locate articles through the WSU Databases and request articles from other libraries:
The guide did not answer your question? Use Library Chat or email me. See my profile information on the guide introduction page.
Anatomy of an Article
Link Google to WSU Library Databases
You can link Google Scholar to the Winona State University databases. Please read these instructions and substitute in Winona State for the university name (Note: do not included "University" for the university name otherwise you will not find WSU linking in Google Scholar Settings). Thanks to Hunter College Library for the basic instructions.
