ENG 111: College Reading and Writing (Larsen)

Access to Physical Items in the Krueger Library

Building Hours
For updates about the building policy, in regards to collections being closed to the public and which floors are accessible to our community, please visit this page: https://libguides.winona.edu/services
Book and DVD Requests

The collections will remain closed during the academic year. Please request any books you need through OneSearch. If you run into issues, please contact the library.
To request a book from the Krueger Library collections:

  1.     Sign in (using your Star ID) to request the item via the My Account button on the library's homepage.
  2.     Find the item you would like to request in OneSearch.
  3.     Choose Request and enter the requested information
  4.     You will receive a notice once your book or DVD is available for pick up.    
    • If you would like us to mail the book(s) to your home address, please respond to the 'On Hold' email notice requesting mail service.
    • If you would like to pick up your items outside of the library, contact library@winona.edu to schedule pick up.
  5.     You are responsible for returning items to the library.  You may mail it back to us (at your expense) or return it in the drop box outside of the library.

To request a chapter or pages from a book

  1.     Fill out the Periodical Request Form
  2.     Put book and chapter information in the forms as follows:
    • Journal/Newspaper Title = Book Title
    • Article or Document Title = Book Chapter Title
    • Article Author [if known] = Book Chapter Author (or Book Author depending)
    • Date or Date Range = Year of Publication
  3.     You will receive a scanned copy of the requested pages via email.

If you have questions about submitting a request, please contact library@winona.edu.

 
Print Article Requests

Please request using Print Periodical Scanning Request Form
Additional information can be found on our website.

Due to the additional cost of postage and packaging, we respectfully request that you order academic-related items.

Please send any questions you may have to library@winona.edu or call (507) 457-5149

As this is a fluid and novel situation, our services may change in the future. Please check back for updates.

Online Access to the Databases

Most of the databases the WSU Krueger Library subscribes and provides access can be accessed anywhere with an internet connection.  

If you use a search engine (such as DuckDuckGo or Google) to search for the name of the database instead of clicking on the database link through the library's website, you should not expect to be given access to the database. However, there are a few exceptions, such as those databases provided by eLibraryMN: https://elibrarymn.org/

Since many of these databases require a monetary fee for access, you need to be authenticated as a WSU student, faculty, and staff. 

Once you click on the database link through the library, you will be prompted to use your StarID and password. 

If you experience any issues with accessing the database, please contact the library (also see the Ask the Library box up above): http://libanswers.winona.edu/form.php?queue_id=339

Ask the Library

Research Help Desk: 507.457.5146
Front Desk: 507.457.5140
Text a Librarian: (507) 593-5391
Email: ask@winona.libanswers.com