Selecting Databases
To search for articles, select one of the databases listed below, or return to the Research Hub and browse the Databases by Subject to select the most appropriate subject database for your topic.
The following databases will grant you access to articles about food, health, economic issues, labor issues, among other related topics:
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Broad database with both academic and general articles. Many are full text, but some are citation only.
- Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
A research database for education students, professionals and policymakers. It includes full-text education journals that cover the essentials of education and related fields of study, including in-depth coverage of special education. Education journals from 1983. Full text from 1994.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering the social sciences, humanities, and arts. Some journal issues extend back to the 19th century. Full text.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
The strongest database in medicine. Also strong in biology, chemistry, and neuroscience.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world from 1450 (excluding the U.S. and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Abstracts and citations only.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIncludes current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Database abstracts and indexes thousands of serial publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews. Some full text.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles, mostly in the sciences, though some social sciences. Citations from 1980. Some full text starting in 1993, more full text from 1997.
- Business Source Premier - Standard Interface This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, etc.
Newspaper Databases
Newspapers are often a good source to further educate yourself about a topic. Keep in mind, though, that newspaper articles are typically written by staff writers (not usually experts), written for a general audience, and usually do not include a list of resources that were consulted or used to write the article.
Find Articles (Step-by-Step Guide)
This "How do I..." guide will instruct you on how to locate articles through the WSU Databases and request articles from other libraries:
