Research Hub: MCOM 305: Mass Media History: Articles

Introduction

Databases are tools to help you find information and are organized by discipline, format, or both. Subject specific databases contain resources relating to subject areas like like Communication & Mass Media Complete contains resources relating to Communication Studies and Mass Communication. Multidisciplinary databases like Academic Search Premier have a variety of resources on several disciplines. Read the descriptions to learn more about what is in each individual database.

Academic Articles

Anatamoy of an Academic Article

Keywords

Resource Sharing

Resource sharing, sometimes referred to as Interlibrary Loan (ILL), allows you to get books, book chapters, DVDs, and articles that aren't available in Krueger Library.

Physical items, like books and DVDs, can take a week or longer to arrive. Online articles or book chapter scans often arrive faster and are sent directly to your email.

To learn more about resource sharing including how to make a request, check out the Borrow and Renew section of the library's website.

Mass Communication Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Broad database with both academic and general articles. Many are full text, but some are citation only.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
The major database for mass communications, communication studies, marketing, and related fields. Combined coverage of over 770 titles. Some full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering the social sciences, humanities, and arts. Some journal issues extend back to the 19th century. Full text.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text journals from Johns Hopkins University Press, emphasizing the humanities and social sciences.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles, mostly in the sciences, though some social sciences. Citations from 1980. Some full text starting in 1993, more full text from 1997.
Business Source Premier - Standard Interface This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, etc.
Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. Business Source Premier contains PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDF's are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color.
The database also includes other sources of full text information such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Business Source Premier provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals including Academy of Management Journal is available back to 1958, Accounting Review to 1926, Administrative Science Quarterly to 1956, California Management Review to 1958, Industrial & Labor Relations Review to 1947, Journal of Accounting Research to 1963, Journal of Finance to 1946, Journal of Marketing to 1936, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR) to 1964, Management Science to 1954, Operations Research to 1956, etc.

Advanced Search Techniques

Boolean Searching = using the AND, OR, and NOT operators to broaden or narrow a search
- OR = includes either or both terms in your results
- AND = retrieves results with both terms
- NOT = excludes search word or phrase
Phrase Searching = telling the database to search a string of words as a phrase rather than individually
- “communication privacy management theory” retrieves fewer, more relevant results than searching without “”
Truncation = using an * to find alternate endings to root words
- Self-disclos* will retrieve results containing self-disclose, self-disclosed, self-disclosure, self-disclosures
Subject Linking = using the hyperlinked subject terms to find relevant information
- Subjects are assigned to a source to classify what it's about
- Searching or using the hyperlinked subject terms retrieves more relevant results